The plot trees – March 2012

Trees often appear to be bare, dark skeletons one day then full of blossom or leaves the next. I suppose that happens as we’re generally not able to get a close look at the gradual changes once they are fully grown.

Both the plot trees are only about five feet tall so I’m able to see these changes close up.

At the moment the hawthorn is covered with small tightly furled leaves that will now quickly grow and open transforming it’s appearance.

The plum is covered with small green buds which would go almost unseen on a taller tree. More pleasing is the one flower blossom that has appeared. It’s tiny, being no bigger than my small finger nail.

Earlier this week Christine, a fellow member and friend over on UK Veg Gardeners, who lives in New Mexico posted this photo of a magnificent Ponderosa pine. It’s in her front yard and is officially registered as the tallest one in the state at 114 feet.  She went on to say…We are blessed to be it’s guardians.

My post Tree Followers which I did last month links to previous plot tree posts, and also worth reading is Lucy’s post Tree Following – An Explanation and A List over on her Loose and Leafy blog.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The plot trees – March 2012

  1. Jo says:

    It’s amazing just how quickly a bare tree can become fully dressed with leaves. I have a lilac tree right outside my front window and I’m noticing the buds growing by the day. It won’t be long until it’s covered in lilac, it smells divine but it doesn’t seem nearly a year since the tree last bloomed, must be another sign of getting older.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it really is, and I never cease to be surprised how quickly it seems to happen.
      Lucky you, sadly the lilacs out front here were hacked back a few weeks ago so there’ll be no flowers on them this year.
      As for the years passing by ever quicker tell me about it! xx

  2. Yes, it is amazing to see how fast the tree buds can grow. Lovely to see the blossom on your plum tree already 🙂

  3. I love it when the fruit trees start to blossom – I have a cherry tree with pink blossom and when it is windy all the petals float down like confetti and cover the lawn – such a beautiful sight.

  4. Doris says:

    I can’t wait for the trees to bloom this spring. That Ponderosa pine in the photo is magnificent!

  5. nikkipolani says:

    That plum bloom is delicious, Flighty. So elegant and sweet. That pine photo is something else! Amazing.

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, and I just picked up Nicola Upson’s first novel. It’s ready at hand as soon as I finish my current Maisie Dobbs 😉 Thanks for the recommendation.

  7. Mo says:

    I also love to see trees suddenly blossom 🙂
    I also like the idea of Tree Guardians suggested by Christine.

  8. wellywoman says:

    Hi Flighty, What beautiful blossom that plum tree has. I’m eagerly awaiting the blossom on my crab apple. If the weather stays like this I’m sure I won’t have to wait too long. Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

