H is for…

continues my occasional Plot A to Z series, the last post being Onwards with G…. Here are a handful of H‘s which I think are interesting, and certainly varied.

I’m sure that all gardeners have at least one hoe that they use quite a lot.  In my case it’s a traditional Dutch Hoe, which has a lightweight, long metal handle.

The proper name for the various varieties of sunflowers that I grow is helianthus annus. They are one of my favourite flowers and everyone should grow them!

Herbs are surely an essential part of all gardens and plots. I grow borage, fennel, lavender, lemon balm and rosemary.

I have a small hydrangea which hasn’t flowered since I moved it out of a planter onto the plot, but fingers crossed that it will this year!

I often see hoverflies, which are bee like in appearance, feeding on nectar and pollen rich flowers like asters, california poppies, cornflowers and pot marigolds.

Happy gardening to all my fellow horticulturalists!

Edited Monday, 19 March following Glo’s comment below to include her Helping Hands award.  Thank you Glo!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to H is for…

  1. Mo says:

    I was expecting Hosta, and I’m pleased they weren’t there because I don’t like them 🙂 I had them in one garden and they attracted loads of slugs.
    The Hoe is one of my favourite tools. I find it very therapeutic 🙂
    And your Herb mentions have reminded me that I need to get some Borage.
    Thank you.

  2. VP says:

    Happy H’s!

    I especially like the hoverflies as their larvae also hoover up all those aphids 🙂

  3. Heavenly Helianthus! Harbingers of summer. Seeds from last year are popping up all over the place already and Hoe-ing has been High on my list of chores as has Horseradish. Been digging up the roots, repotting some for this autumn and preserving the grated roots of the rest. Happy days! xx (Fun post!)

  4. wellywoman says:

    Really enjoy your A-Z posts. I replanted some Heleniums today so that’s my contribution to the Hs. It’s been a lovely sunny afternoon here which is lovely after such a miserable week.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, I’ve always loved that photo you have of the hoverfly. And do hope your hydrangeas do better this year. I’ve purchased some more ammonium sulfate to help the blooms turn bluer. We’ll see.

  6. Glo says:

    Here you go! H is for…a Helping Hands Award for your helpful ways. I also loved seeing your hoverfly photo again ~ the lighting is just perfect. Any flower that starts with ‘helio’ is a sunny one ~ I love heliotrope as well.

  7. I like all the H’s you’ve listed. I hope your hydrangea flowers this year, I adore mine! x

  8. Hi Flighty, I have stumbled upon your comprehensive blog this evening and especially like your occasional A to Z section. Waiting now to see what you come up with for the letter ‘I’. Iris perhaps? or tips for Irrigation? or maybe you are saving it for the Christmas season with the Ilex and the Ivy?
    Tee hee. Great blog.

    • Flighty says:

      Dorris hello, welcome and thanks for your comment. I can’t believe that this post is March last year so the next one is ‘way’ overdue. I’ll have a ponder and try to do it in the next couple of weeks. Thanks xx

Leave a Reply

