Daffodils

One of the nice things about walking onto the allotment site at this time of year is looking round to see lots of daffodils.  There are single ones, small groups and larger drifts, all of which provide plenty of welcome colour against a background of mostly bare earth.

I have six small groups on the plot, one of which is mostly small mini ones – see new header picture.  The others are what I call proper, traditional ones which this year seem to have shorter stems than usual although the flowers are still a good size.

Yellow is one of my favourite flower colours so it’s not surprising that I like daffodils as I do, although I’m not too keen on some colours, such as pink, or the frilly varieties.

I’m sure that we’ll be seeing plenty of blog posts and photos about these cheerful flowers, and last weekend Elaine did this interesting one Through Drifts of Wild Daffodils.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Daffodils

  1. Martin says:

    I agree, the allotment site at this time of year can seem like a blank canvas of bare earth. The daffodils are certainly a welcome distraction!

  2. wellywoman says:

    There are rows of daffodils lining the grass verge as I walk to the allotment and there are a couple of clumps actually on the allotment which is nice. I’m not really a fan of the more unusual coloured daffodils. I like white ones but really daffodils have to be yellow. Hope this fog will shift by the weekend it has been a strange week of weather.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly seeing those must cheer you up! I’ve been lucky here during the week as it’s been misty first thing but the sun has appeared quite quickly. Today, however, has remained cool and dull all day. xx

  3. Well, our Daffs here seem to have flowered earlier than over here. We have had great shows for the last 3 weeks and now they are fading fast 😦

  4. Doris says:

    Gorgeous! I will have to wait awhile for them to bloom here but spring is coming!

  5. Glo says:

    So lovely to see your bright daffodils ~ mine are still waiting patiently for warmer weather. It was a pleasure to meet Stanley on your previous post. I used to have a black cocker spaniel named Candy, and she had a lovely disposition just like Stanley.

  6. Glo says:

    Sorry, I was so surprised to see my comment post that I forgot to sign my name and came up as anonymous. Still no luck posting to WordPress when I try to sign in with my email address. Glo

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Ah! Love those daffs! How cheery they look in your header. I like the yellow ones best, though the yellow with white are also very pretty.

  8. Jo says:

    Daffodils are such cheery flowers, and yellow is one of my favourite flower colours too. They’re only just starting to bloom around here, so we should have them for a while yet. I saw the first bluebells of the year yesterday, blooming in someone’s garden.

  9. Mo says:

    “Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
    Fluttering and dancing in the breeze” 🙂 (Thanks Wordsworth)
    I am still daffodiless 😦

  10. Damo says:

    They look lovely Flighty. I’m looking forward to our Spring Show next Saturday when the village hall will be full of daffs.

Leave a Reply

