Keeping active

In contrast to last week it’s rained a couple a days so I’ve not able to do any plotting. I wandered round on Monday and was pleased to see some purple crocus (see header picture) and the first of the daffodils, these mini ones.

I reach the official retirement age of 65 later this year, and have now virtually stopped working apart from a few hours a week. Keeping active as we get older is said to be important both mentally and physically.

I’ve been a member of my local horticultural society virtually since I took on the plot and have gradually become more active and involved.  I’m on the rota of Sunday morning trading shed helpers, and I’m now a keyholder. As I’ve mentioned I’m also the teaboy, which I’m sure the others consider to be my most important job! At the annual show I’m one of the stewards, which I really enjoy doing, finding it both interesting and rewarding. 

Last October Christine, the show secretary, and her husband John, the chairman,  asked if I would set up and run a website for the society.  I agreed and, after chatting with others, decided to use WordPress.  So far everyone seems to like Digging in…online home for members of the Newton Park Horticultural Society.

I wasn’t really surprised to find that I’ve now been co-opted onto the committee as well, which I have to say I don’t mind at all. Over the years I’ve been on various other committees so know all about them.

Lastly don’t forget that Gardeners’ World starts again tomorrow on BBC2 at 8.30pm.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Keeping active

  1. wellywoman says:

    Great news about Gardeners’ World. I was just thinking about it the other day and wondering when it would be back, so thanks for letting me know. The crocus are beautiful, I need to get some in my garden. Sounds like you’re very busy. I’m always quite envious of allotments with a good ‘social scene’. My plot is on a site that only has 20 plots and I would say there are only really 8 regular plotters, you might not see the others for weeks at a time. Quite a lot of the plots this year have had nothing done to them. So I’m wondering whether they are going to give them up. Will take a look at your allotment website. Have a great weekend. x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly it sure is. Crocus are well worth growing. Not too busy but it all keeps me ticking over so to speak. The society is not just just for plot holders, and some members don’t even have gardens. My site is bigger but I generally only see a similar number of regulars, and there are untended plots. Thanks, and you too! xx

  2. Well Flighty, I can see that you will be still very active after your retirement! It’s great that you are so involved in something that you really like doing anyway 🙂
    Good luck in your “Official” retirement.
    I have Gardener’s World on automatic play,so won’t miss that!
    Happy Gardening,
    Catherine.

    • Flighty says:

      Catherine I’ve actually been semi-retired for a few years so it won’t be that much different in the future. Yes it is, taking on the plot and getting involved like this has proved so enjoyable and worthwhile. Thanks, I’m looking forward to it!
      Enjoy watching it. Thanks, and you too! xx

  3. Jenny Aspin says:

    So you will now have the best of both worlds, Flighty, being active but being able to choose how you do that. 🙂

  4. Jo says:

    You’re certainly involved with all things allotment, Flighty. I bet you’ll end up being busier after your retirement than you ever were when you were working. It’s nice to be so active in something you really enjoy though. Glad to see that Gardeners World’s back, I’ve already set it to tape on SkyPlus.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it beats watching daytime TV or washing the car, neither of which I do! I think that you’re right, and not only busier but enjoying it more as well. Happy viewing! xx

  5. Mo says:

    I have to agree with everyone else! It sounds as if your ‘official retirement’ will be very active 🙂
    I shall pop over to your allotment Blog later (I’m supposed to be busy right now).
    Do we know when your birthday is?

  6. Doesn’t seem five minutes since you reciting ‘When I’m 64’ – you are lucky in having lots of extra-curricular activities horticulturally ( whew, that was a mouthful) the allotment society are very lucky to have you and your input.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine it was four months ago, and I’m sure the next one will be here much too quickly! I am, and I’m rather thankful that my time is being taken up in this way. Committee members, helpers etc. are always in short supply so I think you’re right! xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    I tried crocuses again this year, though not with much hope since they still haven’t bloomed. Your header looks fantastic, as do the mini daffs. My daffs are just starting — saw a single bloom tonight as I went out to water (it’s windy and very dry today).

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki fingers crossed that they do bloom! Thanks, they’re such are a pleasing sight. I’m hoping that it won’t be too dry or windy here this year. xx

  8. Liz says:

    The word “retirement” is a joke! It has been many years since I was as busy and involved in different activities as I am now. Gardening is so good physically and psychologically. We have an annual flower and vegetable show. I have been a clerk, which I think must be the same as your “steward”. It is very informative, as you get to follow the judges around and listen in on their comments and hand them the ribbons to place.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I agree with you, but I find life is certainly less stressful. It sure is. Since then I have sadly resigned from all my official duties with the society due to differences with a couple of other committee members. I found being a steward really interesting, and it is the same as your clerk. xx

Leave a Reply

