All ready…

I emptied the compost bin a week ago yesterday, wheelbarrowing  over twenty loads out onto the plot.  The robin did come and see what I was doing a few times but preferred to find insects on the various heaps.

After spreading it all over the vegetable patches I spent much of last week digging it in. I took it steady, and thankfully it didn’t prove to be too strenuous a job.

As you can see it’s now all ready for planting and sowing starting later this month.

Yesterday I noticed that the rhubarb is just starting to appear, as are the nerines.  I also stood about ten feet away from a crow which dropped a piece of stale bread into the dustbin lid pond to soften, which it then retrieved and ate.

On the doormat when I got home was the council invoice for the coming year’s plot rental, which is the grand sum of £20. This is one bill that I’m only too happy to pay.

Happy gardening!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to All ready…

  1. Ee by gum you have been working hard – it all looks great – not a weed in sight – all ready and waiting to be filled with delicious veg and your beautiful flowers – looking forward to seeing more plot pictures showing progress during the year. I have also been emptying my compost bin, still have a bit to go but as it is raining today I don’t think I will be doing it just yet. Have a nice Sunday.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine thanks! Yes I made the most of what was ideal weather during last week. It may look weedless but rest assured there are plenty lurking!
      There’ll be plenty of pictures, and I’ll try to remember to take ones from this spot every few months to see the contrast.
      Thanks, and you too. It’s been a wet day here so I’ve done plenty of sofa flying! xx

  2. Looks like a job very well done – beautifully tidy and ready for sowing. You did well to get it finished in the mild weather last week. It was an opportunity I missed through work and, yes, it’s raining here today. Is that the stem of your very tall sunflower that I can see? The fallen seeds left by the birds should give you a lovely show this year. I’m looking forward to reading about which veg you’re growing this year. Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks! I was well pleased to get it all done, and thankfully with just one blister to show for all my hard work..
      Yes that’s one of the tall single sunflowers that I’ve left as a robin perch. I shall sow new ones but self seeded ones always seem to grow better for some reason, but not always in the right place.
      I shall mention what vegetables I’m growing in a forthcoming post. xx

  3. Jo says:

    Lots of hard work there – well done. My rhubarb is just starting to appear too – but need to decide what to grow in my raised beds this year.

  4. Jo says:

    Your plot looks lovely and tidy and all ready for the coming season, you must be raring to get going now. Emptying the compost bin is a job I’ve yet to do, though it’s snowing here at the moment so it won’t get done today. It’s nice to hear that you had the company of the robin again whilst you dug over the plot.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks, and yes I am! I hope that the snow hasn’t settled.
      This robin tends to come and go, unlike others which have hung around on the plot. xx

  5. Jenny Aspin says:

    £20! What a bargain!

  6. Mo says:

    I bet you’re glad that you got all that done before the rain came 🙂

  7. Donna says:

    Very neat and tidy, and full of growing potential!!

  8. wellywoman says:

    Your plot looks so good Flighty with all that compost spread. My rhubarb is poking through too so I’ve just put a pot over one of the crowns to force it can’t wait for the first crumble.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    I’m very impressed, Flighty. Everything looks so tidy and ready for a burst of spring new growth and maybe even some blooms. Well done! And £20 per year? Deal!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks! I looked round this morning and found the purple crocus as shown in the header and the first plot daffodils, some mini ones. A good deal indeed! xx

  10. Glo says:

    Sing a song of sixpence
    With pockets full of seeds!
    Four and Twenty barrow loads
    Of compost, not of weeds.
    When the plot was covered,
    The birds began to sing,
    Isn’t that our Flighty’s plot
    All ready now for Spring?

  11. Harry says:

    …Hi Flighty….I seem to be the only one who does not have any sign of rhubarb…but the west of Scotland is always a couple of weeks later than England…at least that’s what I found when I used to follow my ‘Adam the Gardner’ book…. do you remember him? We got a week by week task to do and it was helpful to a novice like me!

  12. That looks good! I’m amazed at your rent, ours is over £100 but we think it’s worth every penny. Our rhubarb is just beginning to show too, and we’re not forcing any this year either – too busy trying to get the asparagus bed ready!

    • Flighty says:

      Kay hello and thanks! That’s for a half plot at the concessionary rate. Even at your rent it’s well worth the money.
      Good luck with the asparagus, which if I grew it would be for the foliage not to eat! xx

  13. Karen says:

    I bet your chuffed with how your plot is looking already! It puts some of the plots here to shame (although I’m sure they will get sorted in time). Well done!

  14. Flighty says:

    Karen I am, but I’m lucky to have had the time to do it which others haven’t. Our site plots vary considerably as I’m sure all do. Thanks. xx

  15. Oh you are so much better organized then me, i still have another 4 plots to dig over and then i have my compost bins to empty and move over. Your plot looks wonderful after all your hard work. Its amazing isn’t it how much allotments are a year, where i am they are only £12 a year, silly money really.

    • Flighty says:

      Helen hello! I’ve just had more time and been lucky with the weather. I’m sure that you, and everyone else, will catch up soon. Thanks, seeing it like that makes it all worthwhile. Yes it is amazing and let’s hope that it stays like that. xx

  16. Wow, Flighty. Your plot is looking really tidy and all ready for planting soon.Good work!
    Our rhubarb is nearly ready for picking! I live in the south of Ireland in Cork.Is it because it is milder down here?

    • Flighty says:

      Catherine this post was over a month ago so plenty has been done since, including some planting and sowing.
      Yours is probably an early variety, as is my plot neighbour’s which is also nearly ready. Where you are also helps. xx

Leave a Reply

