Busy plotting

I like to do my plotting during the morning starting nice and early. Mind you it can be a bit cold at this time of year as I found out on Monday when it was rather frosty.

I decided that I’m going to sow and grow the wild flowers that I mentioned on Sunday in the patch in front of the log pile so I’ve cleared and dug it over.

Yesterday was better when I moved five of the lavender Munstead plants from one side of the path to the other.  I then carefully pruned back the blackberry bush and rose Pretty Lady. 
Today it’s grey and windy so I’m staying home, but the forecast is for dry, warm weather over the next few days so I’m hoping to empty the compost heap.

It’ll be nice if a robin, or two, keeps me company whilst I’m doing it as they usually do.

Tonight I shall enjoy Bees, Butterflies and Blooms on BBC2 at 8.00pm followed an hour later by Winterwatch.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Busy plotting

  1. Hello

    I’ve noticed your blog in the sidebar of ‘Tree Year’.

    I was ‘following’ trees before that started – and am continuing – so I’ve offered to help link others who are doing the same.

    The details are on my blog, Loose and Leafy.

    http://looseandleafy.blogspot.com/

    I’m making a list of people who are noting the progress of a particular tree (or group of trees, the plants and fungi associated with an individual tree . . . or . . . the definition of ‘tree following’ is fluid!)

    If you would like to join in with this, let me know and I’ll add your blog to the list – with a link. Then, whenever you post about ‘your’ tree, let me know – either by leaving a note in the comments or by email, and I’ll put an updated link to that too.

    It’s all very informal and I’m still working out the best way to do it but do let me know if you would like to take part.

    Lucy Corrander

    • Flighty says:

      Lucy hello! I was a keen follower, and supporter, of the Tree Year and was disappointed that it just lasted a year. I follow several trees on my plot and will keep posting about them periodically.
      I think it’s great that you intend continuing with this as you outline and will be more than happy to take part. I’ll also give you a mention in a forthcoming post and add a link as well. xx

  2. Morning is my favourite time for ‘plotting’ too – often it is the best time of day – I love the peace and quiet – can’t wait for a nice spring morning with the birds singing – for doing a bit of pottering. Aahh bliss!

  3. Jo says:

    I’m sure your robins will be around, just as soon as they realise that the compost is being emptied. I think you’ve chosen the perfect place for your wild flowers, they will attract all the beneficial insects to your plot and they’ll hopefully then stay around in your log pile.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I do hope so! Thanks I generally leave that area alone and only tidy it up once a year around about now. I will do the same once the flowers hopefully get established. xx

  4. wellywoman says:

    Most often I go to the plot on an afternoon, between 2 and 4.30. That way I have to be disciplined and leave in time to get dinner on otherwise we’d have nothing to eat but at the height of summer when I’m really busy it’s an hour or so before lunch as well. I’m looking forward to those 2 programmes tonight. Can’t wait to see photos of wildflowers later in the year.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly that sounds good to me but I always far more energetic before lunch than after, when I often feel a bit lethargic! Enjoy tonight’s programmes. It’ll certainly be interesting to see what flowers there. xx

  5. Mo says:

    Our Robins have been following me every time I venture out, obviously waiting for me to do some serious work and uncover some food for them 🙂 I’m sure yours will be there in a heartbeat as soon as you start playing with your compost 🙂
    It’s windy up here to and has been trying to rain all day – when is this warm spell due?

    • Flighty says:

      Mo I love it when they do that, and I’m sure that mine will.
      It’s been raining here since late morning but the forecast is still looking good for the next few days. I shall leave it to dry out a bit and maybe tackle the compost heap on Saturday morning. xx

      Have you read the the comment above from Lucy? As a Tree Year supporter I think that you’ll be interested in what she’s doing so please do have a look at her link. xx

  6. Your Pretty Lady rose is lovely and full of blooms, Flighty. Looking forward to seeing your flower patch in bloom too.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    How glorious your rose looks at her peak! Hope she’ll do that well for you again this season. Early morning is a lovely time to be out isn’t it? I usually find myself stuck with twilight many a time, but mornings are best.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it sure does. It’s been looking rather sorry for itself through the winter so I gave it a hard prune which will hopefully revitalise it for this year. Yes it is, especially on a clear day. I’m rarely out after teatime nowadays.

  8. Doris says:

    Love the photo of the two little robins. So sweet!

Leave a Reply

