Flighty’s flowers

I made the most of the good weather on Friday by spending the morning tidying up the flower patch.

I checked the perennials –  lavender Munstead, mountain cornflower, aquilegia, daffodils, common mallow and oriental poppy  – which are showing signs of new growth.

Various annuals had been left to self-seed of which the collomia grandiflora looks well established and the others – including marigolds, cornflowers, love-in-a mist and poppies – will no doubt start to appear soon.

I shall be sowing plenty of annuals – marigolds, cosmos, dianthus, california poppy, several varieties of sunflowers, poached egg plant, linaria Fairy Bouquet, nemophilia Five Spot, nasturtiums, phacelia, rudbeckia and sweetpeas – along with the perennials chicory, chrysanthemums and dianthus.

Elsewhere on the plot it was good to see these crocus, especially the yellow one which no doubt has since been eaten by the birds!

I’ve got a couple of packets of native British wildflowers which contain cornflower, field poppy, clover, bird’s-foot, trefoil, knapweed, corncockle, red campion, lucerne, daisy and evening primrose. I may sow these on, and around, the wild patch where the log pile and other pond is.

I sow everything direct so it does tend to be rather hit and miss but I generally feel that I don’t do too bad.

My apologies for not including the proper latin names and hope that no one will take me to task for not doing so!   Incidentally does anyone know why we generally use them for flowers but not for vegetables?

Here are just a few Flighty’s flowers as a preview of what I hope will be a floriferous summer. 

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Flighty’s flowers

  1. I love your choice of flowers, your plot should look wonderful during the spring and summer if they all come to fruition. I am hoping for much the same myself. Looking forward to seeing photos throughout the year to see how you are doing.

  2. I love the fact that you grow so many flowers as well as all that veg and fruit. As for latin names, don’t apologise, the “common” names are much more magical – “poached egg plant”, wonderful. And a useful reminder that I need to order seed of that and phacelia, and soon too…

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I’d really like to grow a lot more flowers! I was really being a bit lazy as I mentioned so many flowers, and I shall look at the common names in a new light from now on. I wonder if I need to order anything else! xx

  3. Your plot will look great when all the flowers come out

  4. Jo says:

    That’s a great selection of flowers. I still have to go through my stash and sort out what I’ll be growing this year, I only want those which I can sow direct so that it cuts down the effort I have to make with them. Your plot will look lovely and colourful again come summer.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks. As I mentioned I sow all mine direct and my eyes light up when I read ‘ sow and forget’ in the Chiltern Seeds catalogue. I do hope so, and I’ll be happy to share it with everyone here. xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Good thing you’re recording your flower seeds here. I often sow seeds and promptly forget what’s been sown!

  6. Damo says:

    Nice to have some milder weather, it feels like the new season is getting underway now. Great selection of flowers, I need to sort out what I’m going to sow.

    • Flighty says:

      Damo it is although this morning it was rather cold on the plot. Thankfully warmer weather is on the way. Thanks, I’m sure that you’ll be growing a great selection too!

  7. wellywoman says:

    I can’t wait to see photos of your plot come summer and all those flowers in bloom. I don’t know why we use latin for flowers and not veg but I was wondering whether it was because we eat the vegetables and it’s a bit longwinded to say Daucus carota for carrots when preparing food!!

  8. menhir says:

    I reckon that there are less veggies bought than flowers are in their number, therefore, easier names to roll off the tongue come in to regular use; this is probably why vegetables get stuck with the familiar colloquial names, with variations throughout regions.

    Do you ever sow seed or plant bulbs into large and small pots?

    I have pictures of this years clusters of snowdrops, however I do not know how to post pictures on this site. A drag and drop failed miserably 🙂

    XX

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I think that’s a good explanation!
      I do and have several pots at the plot with bulbs in. I never seem to have much luck sowing seeds in pots at home but keep trying!
      You can include links in your comment but not pictures. xx

  9. Lovely flower patch Flighty, can’t wait to see it in full bloom. I have no idea of latin names either!

  10. Pingback: Wildlife Pond | The Garden Smallholder

Leave a Reply

