Snowdrops

At this time of year many people, including myself, are pleased to see snowdrops as they’re the first flower of the year.

These ones are out back at home in the rough grass below the trees.

I like snowdrops as I think they contrast well with green foliage but because they are low growing, and face downwards, they look better when seen in larger groups.

Have a look at the Great British Gardens webpage Snowdrop Gardens if you want to find out where to see these lovely flowers in profusion.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Snowdrops

  1. Laydilejur says:

    Ah, so spring is officially on its way. Lovely! 🙂

  2. wellywoman says:

    I’ve got quite a few clumps flowering in the garden at the moment but I agree they do look best en masse. It has been a lovely mild-ish week here. It feels very Spring like today but I hear it’s meant to get colder again at the weekend which is typical since I had planned to put in a path at the allotment. Oh well, it can wait. Have a good weekend x

  3. Jo says:

    I agree that Snowdrops look better in larger clumps. i only have the odd one or two scattered around my garden and they’ve never bulked up at all. I say every year that I must buy more but I never seem to get round to it.

  4. Flighty says:

    Jo it might be worth digging them all up and replanting in a group. That’s an all too familiar story! xx

  5. My little snowdrop patch is really insignificant you would hardly notice it and they have made no attempt to open at all. I ‘acquired’ them from my friends house after he died – his family said I could have anything I wanted of his so I opted for the snowdrops to remind me of him.

  6. Doris says:

    Lovely flowers and a lovely name. Thanks for sharing them!

  7. nikkipolani says:

    HA!! Just this morning, I noticed that I had ONE snowdrop bloom. Well, the ones in your neck o’ the woods are waaaay ahead of mine 🙂

  8. We only have small patches of snowdrops here, though they are larger patches than we had last year. I agree though, large drifts under trees are the best way to enjoy them. Unless you fancy crawling around peering at all the subtle differences between the different types of course…

  9. Mo says:

    Mine have eventually gone mad after a slow start. I even noticed some pushing up through a heap of leaves I left at the base of the Rowan Tree. Your post reminds me that I need to photograph them.
    I remember your back yard snowdrops from last year 🙂

Leave a Reply

