Still marking time

I suppose that it’s almost inevitable at this time of year, and with the weather like it’s been, that most gardeners are still marking time.

It was really cold all last week and there was more snow on Friday morning, which is when I took these two photos.

So the seeds are sorted, the seed potatoes are chitting and the onion sets are setting*. I’m not impatient to start planting and sowing but would like to potter and perhaps do a bit of digging just for the exercise and fresh air.

I looked at posts I did around this time in previous years including Days like yesterday… from last year and in 2009 I had the February blues!

It looks like it’s going to be warmer next week, and that along with lighter mornings and evenings is another sign that it shouldn’t be too long before I’ll be plotting again in earnest.

I think that you’ll agree that this is a really superb photo.

[* Onion sets don’t actually set as far as I’m aware, and click on the pictures to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Still marking time

  1. Jo says:

    It’s a bit warmer here today and the snow has started to melt, at last, though there’s still bits around. The photo is superb, I’ve never seen a Jay. Yesterday’s bird programme was really good, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  2. alison says:

    Hopefully it will be warmer next week and you will be able to spend some time out there on your plot. My robins were singing away today – when they weren’t dashing to a from the bird table for their meal worms! So lovely to watch, I’ll never tire of watching them 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Alison it looks like it will be, and I hope to have a good plot potter later in the week. Lucky you, as I usually only see my one at home fleetingly during the day. xx

  3. wellywoman says:

    Its much milder here today. Hoping to get up to the plot this week. Great photo of a Jay. They are such beautiful birds. Went to a local reserve yesterday and was lucky enough to see some woodpeckers, nuthatch and marsh tits so was pretty chuffed with that. Hope you have a warmer week there, Flighty.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly same here. Me too! They sure are and I always like to see them, which isn’t very often. It sounds like you had a good day seeing all those birds.
      Thanks, let’s hope that we all do! xx

  4. Mo says:

    Our snow is finally thawing and I too am starting to get anxious to be ‘doing’. I’m guessing you’ll be pottering before me though 🙂
    Beautiful photo of the Jay, thank you for sharing it.

  5. I thought the snow had gone, then saw Hampstead Heath from the top yesterday – it was still covered and looked glorious against the blue skies we had! Looks as though temps have been rising today – better make the most of the cold weather to draw up my plot plan for the year! Really lovely photo of a Jay, although it saddens me to think that it was a bird like this that got mauled by the fox last summer. It would have been a rare treat to see it in the veg patch gardens.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro my plot plan is a constant work in progress!
      It could be that the fox had found a dead, or injured, one. Fingers crossed that you see one this year. xx

  6. The snow is on its way out here too – the temperature has risen a little and it is now foggy and drizzly – I think I prefer the cold and snow to be honest. I have decided to be relaxed about getting on with things – we will all get there in the end.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    I keep hearing about this cold weather swooping through your neck o’ the woods — hopefully, it won’t last too long so you can get out!

  8. Karen says:

    I’m the same as you, I like to get out in the fresh air even if there’s little to do!

  9. Its hard not to get impatient at this time of year, isn’t it! That really is a stunning photo. Happy pottering, hope you get to do a little digging soon.

  10. Liz says:

    Yes, a superb photo.

Leave a Reply

