A bit restless

Thankfully the snow only lasted a couple of days but it has continued to be grey and bitterly cold with temperatures remaining around zero.

Apart from having to briefly venture out a couple of times the rest of the time has been spent at home mostly armchair gardening and sofa flying. That’s all well and good but I’m eating way too many biscuits and I’m now beginning to get a bit restless!

Never mind as I read this interesting article today confirming that spring is on the way.

One thing that I rarely do during the day is watch TV but on Saturday afternoon I will settle down at 3.30pm for Birds Britannia – Garden Birds showing on BBC2.

Have a good weekend.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A bit restless

  1. Mo says:

    We still have snow on the ground here and all I keep reading in blogs is people early sowing. I’m resisting 🙂
    Did you see the programme about intelligent animals last night?

    • Flighty says:

      Mo I’m happy to wait to do some sowing but I’d like to take a leisurely stroll round in the sunshine!
      No it clashed Bees, Butterflies and Blooms so I’ll catch up with it on iPlayer. xx

  2. wellywoman says:

    We’ve got some sunshine here at last, Flighty but with more snow predicted for tonight. Aaaaarrrrggghhhh. I’m getting restless too. Did you watch the Sarah Raven programme last night.? I loved it and found it really inspiring. Couldn’t believe the people in that village were so reluctant to turn over such a tiny space to wildflowers.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ lucky you with the sunshine. Yes I did and found it interesting. Just wait to next week which includes the RHS Britain in Bloom competition when I bet we’ll both be raising our eyebrows. xx

  3. Jan Watson says:

    Enjoyed the Spring article Flighty, especially the Cuckoo bit, but yes, where do the girl cuckoos go? x

  4. And here I am moaning about the rain and misty weather. I hope it doesn’t snow anymore over there and the weather warms a little for you Flighty. I too am getting itchy fingers, but am resisting in fear of a cold spell coming across the “Pond” to Ireland! Soon we will be out planting again 🙂

  5. Jo says:

    The snow’s still on the ground here, and there’s more forecast for tonight, I hope they’ve got that wrong. The bird programme sounds good but I’m rarely around to watch tv on a Saturday afternoon so I think I’ll tape it to watch later.

  6. I can hardly believe that two weekends ago I was working outside without a coat – what I need is plenty of fresh air and exercise to banish the winter blues – I have been reading like a demon over the past few weeks, making the most of it though – ‘cos when the gardening season gets underway I hardly have time to lift a book.

  7. Donna says:

    I think there is snow forecast for tonight but according to my phone app it is going to be a bit warmer Mon/Tues, about 7˚ , fingers crossed.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    I LOVE your header image of those sunflowers looking so optimistically to the sky. Spring will surely come 🙂

  9. I’m weary of the cold and the grey….

  10. Ellie says:

    We’ve only had the lightest of snow flurries here, but it has been bitterly cold and grey. We’ve kept our multi-fuel stove going constantly for about a week as the central heating seems to have no effect in our cottage! Still, the cold has made the birds visit the garden more often and there are plenty of snowdrops to be seen. I shall try and remember to watch telly tomorrow afternoon too.
    Keep warm and safe x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie hello, and lucky you for the lack of snow. It’s sure been cold so I’m surprised that you’ve had the stove going as well as the central heating. Same here with plenty of birds feeding, but I’ve yet to see any snowdrops. Do as It looks like a good programme.
      Thanks I will, and you too. Take care. xx

  11. Karen says:

    Have a great weekend, wrap up warm and enjoy your armchair gardening – best thing for it at the moment!

  12. Pingback: » Butterfly Drawings Butterfly Facts

  13. Pingback: » Total Links Butterfly Facts

Leave a Reply

