Bees, butterflies and blooms…

is a new nature series starting on BBC2 TV tomorrow at 8.00pm with episode 1 (of 3)  Villages, Farms and Countryside.

Gardener and writer Sarah Raven is on a mission to halt the rapid decline in Britain’s essential bees, butterflies and pollinating bugs by bringing flower power to towns and countryside.

I shall be watching these programmes with great interest as I do all I can to encourage insects onto my plot by growing lots of suitable flowers.

[Click on the pictures to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Bees, butterflies and blooms…

  1. stacy says:

    Yes I saw this advertised too, I shall be watching with interest also.

  2. Jo says:

    I remember seeing Sarah Raven on a programme (it might have been Gardeners World) in which she was talking about green corridors and how important they are to bees and butterflies. I’m sure this will be an interesting programme.

  3. Annie_H says:

    I’m really looking forward to watching that one too.

  4. Flighty this is absolutely brilliant that you’ve mentioned this. I’ve been waiting for this programme for over a year! When I went to Perch Hill Farm in 2010, Sarah Raven mentioned that she was making this programme and I’ve been on the lookout ever since. (The wheels of the BBC must grind very slowly.) Might have missed it too if it hadn’t been for you! Thanks! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I must admit that I meant to mention on Sunday and completely forgot! It seems to have been delayed for some reason as I thought that it was due to be shown last year. You’re welcome! xx

  5. alison says:

    I’ve set it up on series link, looking forward to it!

  6. wellywoman says:

    Thanks for pointing this out Flighty I might have missed it and it sounds like just my kind of thing. Hopefully it will cheer me up, this weather is starting to get me down. Cheers x

  7. Where would we be without your timely reminders Flighty – I shall certainly be watching this one.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    You’ll have to tell me all about the state of affairs — in the bee world.

  9. Well, I did miss it, so I hope it is on iPlayer – I’ve been looking forward to it for months now!!

  10. Liz says:

    Count me in with Sarah Raven!

Leave a Reply

