January plotting

I was plotting Monday and yesterday, when it was a very pleasant spring-like morning.

There were no robins to be seen but yesterday I saw a dunnock a couple of times which had obviously found something on the plot to its liking. It’s a bird that I rarely see to identify so it was pleasing to watch this one.

Daffodils are starting to peek above ground and these white crocus are several weeks early.  I’m hoping to see them open but frosts are forecast for the next few nights which may well finish them off before they do.

Thanks to the damp, mild winter it’s noticeable that the grass hasn’t really stopped growing and is still looking rather lush as you can see in this plot photo taken yesterday morning.

Over on Sofa flying there’s The joy of books… that I’m sure will appeal to book buffs!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to January plotting

  1. It’s nice to see a photo of your plot as a whole rather than little bits – it’s all looking very neat and tidy, you have obviously been very busy. I love to see Crocus when they are fully open in the sunshine. Mine are only just pushing through.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine thanks, it’s not easy to take one of all the plot! I’ve been lucky with the weather and plenty of time. Me too, although I do wish that they lasted longer than they do. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a dunnock, though I probably have but just didn’t realise that it wasn’t a sparrow, they’re so similar. My hubby commented recently about how green everywhere looked, it’s got to be down to the mild winter we’ve had so far.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo they are rather elusive, and being rather a dull brown doesn’t help either. Yes it’s very noticeable, and as you say it’s down to the weather. xx

  3. That’s a lovely early morning photo of your plot, Flighty. Yes, I noticed our grass seems a lot greener too,even though there are a lot of muddy patches too.
    Nice to see the crocuses peeping up, if you are afraid frost could kill them you could use empty plastic water/pop or milk containers,cut the bottom off them and slip them over the crocuses to give them a small bit of protection 🙂
    I saw a red cardinal type of tit in my garden the other day, never saw them here before!!
    Happy Gardening, Catherine.

    • Flighty says:

      Catherine thanks. I think that it’s looking as green as it is as few people have been around to walk on it. I could do that but they’ll just have to take their chance with the frost.
      Lucky you I wonder what bird it was, perhaps a bullfinch? And to you! xx

  4. alison says:

    oh i love the picture of your plot and the morning sun! agree with elaine, nice to see the bigger picture once in a while :).

    happy gardening!

    xx

  5. Mo says:

    Like everyone, I’m pleased to see a pic of yout plot 🙂
    Congratulations on spying the Dunnock, I remember you saying you didn’t get many sparrows and I tend to lump them in with Dunnocks.

    • Flighty says:

      Mo I do take photos like that but I’m rarely ever happy with them! I rarely see either on the allotments or at home so I was well pleased to see this one. xx

  6. Glo says:

    Plot 124 is wearing winter well! Plot pottering in the sunshine at this time of the year must be quite joyful 🙂

  7. Doris says:

    I enjoyed your posting! Especially because I am writing this during a big snowstorm! It is encouraging to know that birds and flowers will come back. 🙂

  8. wellywoman says:

    Your plot is looking good there, Flighty. That sunshine looks beautiful. It’s cold here today. I can’t remember when it felt this cold, I think we’ve all been a bit spoilt with the mild weather. I’m just worried all the buds and shoots might get damaged with this frost. I noticed my honeysuckle had started to open it’s buds the other day. I’m impressed by your dunnock visitor. I’m not sure whether I’ve seen one before. Have a good weekend.

  9. Flighty says:

    Welly thanks! It was a glorious morning. All change today with an overnight frost and a cold, but still sunny, day. Most things will regrow if frost damaged. Me too, as I’ve only ever seen one previously on the plot. And to you too! xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    LOVELY to see an overview of your plot, Flighty. And that wintry sun is very pretty, too. Boy, your daffs are ahead of mine. Don’t you love seeing new green or buds just peeking out?

Leave a Reply

