Onwards with G…

continues the occasional series A sort of Plot A to Z.

I have two groups of gladioli which provide plenty of colour during July and August.

As well as ordinary grass paths across, and around, the plot there are a few ornamental grasses. There are many species and varieties with over 80 being listed in the Chiltern Seeds catalogue.

I sometimes see Gatekeeper butterflies and last August was lucky enough to photograph this one.

I must give a special, and affectionate, mention to Glo (Porcelain Rose) who not only comments regularly but with great imagination has made various other contributions which have been most welcome, and always made me grin with delight. For example see the awards that she has given me for the previous posts in this series. Our friendship goes back nearly four years as you can see in A new friend, and long may it continue.

Edited Fri, 6 Jan to include Glo’s Golden Gardening Gloves Award (see comment).  It lists grapes which I do grow and should have mentioned!   Thank you Glo!

Have a good weekend!


About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Onwards with G…

  1. I have never grown Gladioli in the Rosebank garden as they wouldn’t fit in with my type of planting but I think they are beautiful, so may plonk one or two in at the allotment. I don’t grow grasses either so ‘G’ probably isn’t my favourite garden letter. But I do like Glo’s awards, she is very creative and I’d love to know how she creates them.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I grow them in memory of a good blog friend whose favourite flowers were gladioli. If you do grow them plant a group of at least five. The grasses were mostly self-seeded and left as I do like them.
      She is indeed, and I would too! xx

  2. Mo says:

    Happy new Year, Flighty. It’s Good to be back reading your posts 🙂

    I love Glads but have none, maybe I should remedy that. It’s also nice to see a shout to Glo, I do love her Blog.

    Well, here’s wishing you Good Gardening for 2012!

    • Flighty says:

      Mo hello, and welcome back! I think you should! Yes Glo’s blog is always a delight to read.
      Thanks, let’s hope that it’s good for all of us. xx

  3. Jennyta says:

    This is the time of year when it does you good to reflect on your allotment as it will be in the spring and summer. Very cheering!

  4. Jo says:

    Hubby’s uncle grows gladioli on his allotment and keeps my vases well stocked with them. They last such a long time as a cut flower.

  5. Jan says:

    These photos really cheered me up on a wet and windy Thursday morning Mike – beautiful colours, and a reminder to self that I really must get glads this year – love them!

  6. Carlie says:

    I LOVE your photos, Flighty! Especially the one with the butterfly – it’s beautiful! xx

  7. Alison says:

    What lovely bright photo’s Flighty – just what is needed on a day like today!

  8. Louise says:

    Both you and Glo are loyal blog buddies to me too! I’d love to grow more Gladioli this year, mine were a great success in the containers. Beautiful images Flighty, and here’s hoping more Gatekeepers pay your allotment a visit in 2012. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise thanks that’s nice to know! They look good in containers don’t they. I’m always hoping to see more butterflies, and photograph them. xx

  9. wellywoman says:

    I have some Gladiolus byzanntinus in my garden. They are smaller than most Gladiolis and flower earlier, in late May/June. They are a really beautiful magenta colour. In parts of Cornwall they have started to naturalise. I’ve also planted some Gladiolus nanus at the allotment for cutting. I’ve also got quite a few grasses in the garden. I love them. Loving the butterfly photo.

  10. I have 3 grasses which I love and will now look out for the grasses from Chiltern Seeds. I will be, yet again, growing a lot of plants specifically because they attract bugs and butterflies – one of my absolute favourite summer pastimes is to sit in the garden watching butterflies and bees. Lovely photo, Flighty – I hope we’ll be seeing a lot more like this! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I looked at the Chiltern Seeds grass list and wished I hadn’t! I see lots of bees but not enough butterflies, and sitting watching them sounds good to me. Thanks, let’s hope so! xx

  11. Damo says:

    Great photos Flighty, Glads are one of my favourite flowers, I always have a few growing around the garden.

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Love it! Glo as a favourite amongst the Gs 🙂

  13. Glo says:

    Hi Flighty ~ Thanks so much for the kind words and links! Hard to believe it’s been four years of friendship. Also, many thanks to others who have left comments about my creations 🙂

    After I dismantled Christmas around here, which seemed to take most of the day, I set to work on your “G” award! I hereby present you with the “Golden Gardening Gloves” Award, because Gardening, after all, is what Plot 124 is about!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo you’re most welcome! It surprised me as well when I looked back.
      Many thanks for your Award which had me smiling this morning, it’s wonderful, and it reminded me that I should have mentioned grapes! xx

  14. Glo says:

    You’re most welcome, Flighty! I see you’re up bright and early 🙂 Glad I reminded you about the grapes, too.

  15. Well….now that I have fixed my “get mail when new posts are posted”.. I will not miss out on your posts anymore and will not think you are still sitting on your sofa..:)
    I love your Glads, Flighty and CONGRATS on your award, well deserved. I must go and check out Glo’s blog since ye are all raving about her!
    Happy 2012 Gardening to ALL,
    Catherine

  16. Flighty says:

    Catherine don’t tell anyone but I still spend far too much time sofa flying!
    Thanks! Do visit Glo as she’ll be pleased to ‘see’ you!
    On behalf of all…and to you too! xx

  17. Liz says:

    Loved the G’s and congrats on Glo’s award.

Leave a Reply

