Ho! Ho! Ho!

I’ve had a mostly quiet, and relaxing, time over the past couple of weeks  for which I’m thankful as I often find this time of year difficult to cope with.

I received some wonderful cards including this one designed exclusively for Thrive by Martin Rolfe.

A present to myself was a packet of Chrysanthemum ‘Crazy Daisy’ seeds. Among the other various useful presents and prizes I opened one package on Christmas Day morning to find that it included a large colourful woolly slug which had me laughing out loud.

The chocolate biscuits that I mentioned recently didn’t last long as I ate them whilst enjoying reading Alan Bradley’s fourth Flavia de Luce book.

Most days have been mild but overcast and often wet, which can get a bit dispiriting.  A few sunny ones would have been welcome for my occasional walks round the plot.  As it is I’ve spent much of the time armchair gardening and watching the antics of various birds out front.

Happy New Year…Flighty xx

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in A good cause, Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Ho! Ho! Ho!

  1. Glad to hear you had some good presents including ‘Plug the Slug’. I have been reading like a demon these past few weeks and devoured four of Kate Atkinsons’ crime novels which I absolutely loved. Still plenty more books to get through before the gardening season starts again. As Helen Yemm said in her Telegraph article – can’t wait to re-bond with my garden.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine thanks. I’ve been reading lots too recently. I enjoyed the Kate Atkinson books, and hopefully there’ll be a new one later this year.
      I think that all gardeners feel like that! xx

  2. Jo says:

    We too have had a quiet and relaxing Christmas, just how I like it. It makes a change from the usual hustle and bustle. We’ll have a quiet celebration tonight too, just the four of us, and Archie, at home. I love your knitted slug, why oh why can’t all slugs be so cuddly and harmless. I bet that gave you a chuckle when you opened it on Christmas morning. I’d just like to thank you for continuing to visit my blogs over the past year and for all your lovely comments, you’re always so generous with them. Enjoy tonight’s celebrations, however you’re celebrating, and may 2012 bring you all you wish for. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Jo there’s a lot to said for a having quiet and relaxing time. I’m just glad that real slugs don’t grow that big!
      I always enjoy reading your posts and commenting so you’re most welcome!
      I spent the evening reading and went to bed well before midnight. Thanks. xx

  3. Doris says:

    I loved the Martin Rolfe card. It gave me a smile (as did the wooly slug). I hope you will have some sunny days soon to pick up your spirits. I have been checking the length of the days on the weather network here and I see that sunset is now three minutes later than it was on December 22! I find that encouraging. 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Doris me too, and as for the slug…! I hope so to as it’s been grey and wet today! The days will soon start to get noticeably longer which is welcome to see. xx

  4. Carlie says:

    Sorry to hear it’s been a difficult time for you, Flighty. We also had a quiet time and missed not being with the family. Sending you hugs xx

  5. wellywoman says:

    Glad to hear you had a relaxing Christmas. It has been resolutely dull and damp here in Wales and I agree some winter sunshine would have been nice to lift the spirits. But we are heading towards Spring now and I spotted my first snowdrops pushing through so that made me smile. I loved the knitted slug. I’ve had a stinking cold the last couple of days so spent yesterday on the sofa watching the Royal Ballet’s Nutcracker. It was a recording from 2000 that we were lucky enough to see at Covent Garden. So it brought back memories of an amazing night. Just what I needed. Have a very Happy New Year, Flighty and I look forward to reading your blog in 2012.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly thanks. Some winter sunshine would be most welcome!
      I hope that your cold is getting better. Watching a programme which triggers memories of happy times is just great isn’t it!
      Thanks, and you too. I look forward to reading yours as well! xx

  6. Glo says:

    It took me awhile to equate the Thrive card photo with the Ho, Ho, Ho (I hadn’t realized it was a photo of three hoes!) Good and timely play on words, Flighty! Slugger with the purple lips sounds most interesting – what a size! He/She will need his/her own section of the sofa – perhaps could be used as a neck pillow 😉 I was reading about all the random acts of kindness people do for others which seems to take away the difficult parts of their own Christmas. Although I do kind deeds, this is going to be my New Year’s focus. I’m glad to know that the Earthflight is a series of six programs.

    Wishing you a terrific 2012 and may all your Chrysanthemum Crazy Daisy Seeds proliferate!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo don’t tell anyone but I was stuck for a title! Slugger seems happy enough sofa flying!
      That’s interesting what you say about the kindness of people, and wish you well with whatever you do this year in this regard.
      Thanks, and to you too. I hope that they do as they’re a lovely flower! xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    I’m so glad you have made it through the holidays. I’ve had quieter days than expected because I still have that nasty cough. So the pruning goes a bit slower and I’m spending more time inside — like you, enjoying the lovely cards from here and yon. Thanks for your good wishes; and a happy 2012 to you, too!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it’s gone by surprisingly quickly! I’m sorry to see that you’ve had a bad cough and hope that you’re feel better soon.
      Thanks for your thanks! xx

  8. Hello Flighty, happy new year! I’ve been a bit quiet over christmas, I’m actually rather glad it’s all over! It’s nice to know that you’ve had enjoyable moments via the television, books and plot walks. I’ve been revisiting my Kent Haruf books, an author who writes simply but with great characterisation about ordinary folk. Must have read those books three or four times already but they’re still a good read! I also enjoyed the BBC’s adaptation of Great Expectations over christmas, they do have the knack of getting costume drama right and a bit of Dickens never goes amiss. Hope 2012 is full of wonderful surprises for you (love the woolly slug!) and just to say thank you for all your kind and encouraging comments on my blog this past year. It’s been a real pleasure to get to know you and your blog. All the very best, Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks, and to you too! Me too, as it does all go on for a bit too long doesn’t it. Just a few enjoyable moments makes all the difference. I’ve always preferred Dickens to Shakespeare.
      I hope that we all have some wonderful surprises during the year! You’re most welcome, and thanks for your kind words. xx

  9. Damo says:

    The days are getting longer and it will be soon time to sow. Something to look forward to!

  10. annie_h says:

    Happy New Year Flighty,
    Spring will be on its way before we know it. Snowdrops peeking through and days getting longer. We will soon be busy, enjoy your relaxing time, that is exactly what I have been doing over Christmas and feel much better for it, hope you are too.
    Looking forward to reading your fabulous blog in 2012.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie thanks, and to you too! That’s true and I’ll be looking out for them.
      We will indeed, but until then I guess that it’ll be more armchair gardening!
      That’s nice to know! xx

  11. Glo says:

    Hi again Flighty ~ When I mentioned Slugger as a neck pillow, I was picturing it behind your head when you were sofa flying 🙂 A little extra cushion to rest your head! I’m assuming it has soft stuffings…

  12. Thrive is such a great charity, I love that card they have designed. Here’s to the welcome return of brighter, warmer, dryer days. All the best for 2012 x

Leave a Reply

