Bright spots

This time of year is one of the reasons for my being noticeably moochy at present. Thankfully there have been some bright spots which have lifted my spirits.

Elaine, A Woman Of The Soil  has kindly given me this blog award. My thanks as they’re always nice to receive, and I shall be mentioning it, and her, again in a forthcoming post.

As you can see I was one of the surprise present winners over on Allotments 4 All, which is to do with the members Christmas donations to Greenfingers. The parcel arrived on Thursday but I won’t be opening it until Christmas day. I shall be doing a post about all this early in the New Year.

Watching the birds at home during the week has been a real delight as they have included a pied wagtail a couple of times, which was feeding on the crushed peanuts in the food I’d scattered on top of the brick pillar.

I went to the plot this morning but didn’t take any photos as it’s all looking rather bleak. Instead I turned round and took this. It’s been ages since I last saw a rainbow, and I don’t think that I’ve ever photographed one before.

Tomorrow morning at the trading hut it’s the horticultural society Christmas party, with free food and drink and a raffle.  Last year I won a couple of prizes, including a Sainsbury’s £5 gift card which I’ve only just got round to spending on a tin of Fox’s Wonders, which are an indulgent collection of luxurious biscuits covered in milk, dark and white chocolate.

Have a good Sunday!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Bright spots

  1. Jennyta says:

    Sorry you are feeling a bit low, Flighty. Paddy and I had a pied wagtail land right in front of us the other day when we were out. Fortunately, Paddy does not react to birds in the same way he does to cats!

  2. Congrats. on winning a prize – you must be having a lucky streak – not long now before the shortest day then things will start to get better – I too am feeling a little like a caged animal. Enjoy your Christmas party – I might have guessed that you would spend your prize on biscuits – one of your weaknesses, methinks.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine thanks, I think I must be! I’m sure that you’re right.
      I enjoyed the party. I didn’t intend spending it on biscuits but as soon as I saw the tins…and yes I guess that they are! xx

  3. Glo says:

    How delightful to find that turning your head away from bleakness offered a chance to see the colours of a magical rainbow 🙂 Kind of a great analogy as well ~ Lovely photo ~

  4. Doris says:

    Glad to hear about the “bright spots”. This can be a dreary time of year. I like what Glo wrote. 🙂

  5. wellywoman says:

    My allotment is looking a bit sorry for itself too. It is hard at this time of year when you’re used to being outdoors. It won’t be too long before we’re all talking about seed sowing though. It’s nice to hear you have a horticultural get together. I haven’t seen anyone from the allotment for months now. That’s the thing with winter everyone understandably retreats indoors. Enjoy those biscuits!!

    • Flighty says:

      Welly I think that everybody’s is by now! Too true. Yes we have several social events during the year. I’m not surprised as I usually don’t see anyone on my site at this time of year. Thanks, I’m sure that I will! xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Always lovely to win a little something 🙂 Glad your moochy mood is lifted with some of these lovely bright spots. Well done on the rainbow photo! Seems like I’m always in the car when I see one… hard to photograph through spotty windscreens. Enjoy your biscuits and birds, Flighty.

  7. Jo says:

    There’s lots of bright spots there. Congratulations on the award, well deserved. Hope you enjoyed the party yesterday.

  8. Donna says:

    Still no birds in my garden since the renovations – I think I have seriously upset them!! Oh dear.

    Ooo, yummy biscuits, do you have the bonus of re-using the tin for seeds?

    • Flighty says:

      Donna don’t worry they’ll start reappearing during next year as things start to grow!
      Mmm yummy indeed and that’s probably what I’ll be reusing the tin for. xx

  9. menhir says:

    Just a quickie to say a very warm thank you for your festive wishes and thoughts. The card is delightful.

    Hugs to you.

    XX

  10. Liz says:

    What a coincidence that you have your fox visitors to your plot and that there are Fox’s biscuits! I hope you enjoyed them in one sitting!

Leave a Reply

