Plot plants ~ Fennel

Surprisingly I’m fairly sure that I’ve not mentioned fennel before.

I think that plot neighbour George gave me a couple of plants last year which I planted near the rosemary that is in the stone feature.

It’s an imposing looking perennial that is around six tall. In the summer it had lots of blue-green feathery foliage and yellow flowers. The aniseed flavour is pronounced and even I can smell it. I grow it for decorative purposes as it adds height and interest, and because the flowers are a magnet for beneficial insects.

These photos, taken yesterday, show that the plants still have to die back for the winter, and even have some new growth.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

I have finally got round to doing a Plot plants page listing all these occasional posts, in date order, which shows as a link at the top of this page under the header picture.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Plot plants ~ Fennel

  1. I always think Fennel is a lovely addition to the garden – I tried to move mine last year as it had grown so large and it died, so I really must plant some more.

  2. Betty says:

    Fennel is very popular in Sicily where my husband comes from, they sell it piled high at the street markets. I really must grow some next year. Did you grow yours from seed Flighty? If so, when is the best time to sow?

    • Flighty says:

      Betty I think that’s where George is from as well. I think that you should! No, as I wrote, I was given a couple of plants. According to my books the seed should be sown in the spring. xx

  3. Jo says:

    I’ve never grown fennel, it’s too big for my garden, but it could be a welcome addition to the allotment if it attracts beneficial insects. We still haven’t had a frost and lots of plants are putting on new growth when they should be having a rest.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it needs a bit of space that’s for sure , which I’m you can find on the plot. Same here although there been a couple of frosty nights this week. xx

  4. wellywoman says:

    My neighbour’s plot has a big clump of fennel which is looking particularly beautiful at the moment with its dried seed heads. I don’t grow any on my plot but I did have Dill which the insects loved and I used as cut flowers and the leaves are loved chopped up into a potato salad. Have a good weekend, Flighty.

  5. Ah yes! Fennel! Lovely plant, lovely taste. I have fennel too and I was unsure whether to cut this year’s branches down or what to do. Lots of new growth at the base (like yours) and a few seed heads to collect. I use the crushed seeds in my home-made tomato sauce (not ketchup!), they add a depth but don’t overpower the other flavours. Lovely with pasta! Wishing a good weekend for us all, Caro xx

  6. Even this far north my fennel is sprouting new foliage at the base, and where I cut some stems back to about 12ins high it has new flower shoots. I don’t cut it back as I love to see the seed heads frosted.

  7. Donna says:

    I’m a beggar for buying fennel bulbs and then letting them go off while I work out what to cook with them!!

  8. nikkipolani says:

    I love that you get to share plants with plot neighbors 🙂

  9. I hate aniseed, so I have always put off planting fennel, thought it is a beautiful plant. Now, though, because I cook so much Indian food, which frequently demands fennel seeds, I think I need to grow my own and become self sufficient on the seed front. Plus the birds will like it. Just have to find my next garden…

    • Flighty says:

      Janet grow it for looks only as I do. I’m not too sure about the birds but insects like hoverflies like it. Good luck with the garden, and house, hunting. xx

  10. Liz says:

    There is fennel growing at the herb garden which my garden club tends and I have it in a bed with other tall plants– goldenrod, Joe pyeweed. It reseeds here easily, so there are always a few sprigs popping up in the spring, to pass along or pot up for the annual plant sale. I too, grow it for looks, not for eating!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I took some pictures of the frosty seed heads on my current fennel plant yesterday. It’s a great plant to look at, and for wildlife. I’m always pulling up unwanted seedlings. xx

Leave a Reply

