Here and there

At home I’ve been continuing to scatter some bird food on the ground to the left of the path and on top of the brick pillar every morning. Now that the lilacs either side of the path have shed their leaves I’m able to see, and watch, the blue and  great tits flitting around in them.  The robin and several chaffinches are more leisurely, and this week have been joined by a female blackbird.   Thankfully there are usually just a couple each of feral and wood pigeons so the food generally lasts most of the day.

Drinking a cup of tea whilst standing looking out the window watching their various antics is most enjoyable, especially on the more miserable days.   Yesterday I saw a grey squirrel as well which is a first, although they are resident out the back.

I spent a couple of hours pottering on the plot yesterday morning. Plot neighbour Joe was busy making sure that some of his plants were protected from the frost that is forecast for tonight.  Whilst chatting we picked and ate the last of his outside grapes.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Here and there

  1. Laydilejur says:

    We used to live near the Jubilee River and often had Blue Tits, Woodpeckers and Wood Pidgeons visit our garden – and, of course, the grey squirrels would try and steal their food. How I missed not seeing them, until a lovely surprise arrived this Autumn in Turkey in the form of Blue Tits. I didn’t see any here last year, but there were some Woodpeckers and lots of Wood Pidgeons, as we live amongst Pine Trees.

    • Flighty says:

      Jan I think that seeing birds is one of life’s simple pleasures and would really miss them if I didn’t.
      Good to see that you get blue tits which are a lovely little bird. I sometimes hear woodpeckers but sadly rarely ever see them. xx

      • Jan Watson says:

        They’re something we used to take for granted when I was a kid (1950s) I never gave them a second thought I’m ashamed to say. The way numbers have dropped in the last fifty years is frightening so I feel we should do everything we can to help them. We had Mr and Mrs Blackbird nest in the greenhouse last spring (I left the top windows open during that hot spell) so the door was kept firmly shut, much to the annoyance of our cat, who never figured out how to abseil down into the windows, until the babies had fledged – hence I grew all of my tomatoes outdoors this year xx

        • Flighty says:

          Jan I know just what you mean as I remember my mum feeding the birds in the garden and there were always lots of them. That’s unusual for blackbirds so good for you.
          Sadly I don’t have a greenhouse so I have to grow my tomatoes outside which this succumbed to blight at the beginning of September before most of them had ripened. xx

  2. Like you, I get so much pleasure watching the birds in the garden. We have added a new variety of seed for them to eat this year – Niger – as well as the sunflower hearts, mixed seed, fatballs and peanuts. They don’t seem too keen on the Niger seeds at the moment, but it takes a while for them to get used to something new, I think. If the weather ever gets really cold then I think they will be more eager to partake. I will start putting apples down soon for the blackbirds, the ones that are a bit past it from the Golden Delicious tree. In last years hard winter we had dozens of blackbirds coming down for the apples, they were getting through at least half a dozen a day. I’m glad that maybe I helped a few of them survive the winter.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine the niger seed should bring goldfinches into your garden. They’re such a lovely bird which I rarely see here.
      I think all our help during the past two winters really helped many birds that would have struggled to survive otherwise. xx

  3. Jo says:

    I too love watching the birds, I’m always happy when I see something new visit the garden. The robin is here most days now, I don’t see him all summer. We still haven’t had a frost though it’s very cold today, perhaps tonight’s the night.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo me too, but new visitors are few and far between. Robins like many birds disappear for the summer but make up it over the coming months. There was a frost here last night for thye first time this autumn. xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    I like that kind of entertainment — watching birds enjoy the seeds you spread. Nice to hang out with your plotting friends and enjoy the fruits of their labour 🙂 Cute grapes. The weather has been positively summery which feels very strange. 89F today.

  5. I think it is nice to share with your allotment friends, not that I have an allotment, but sharing stories and discussing plants and veggies must be really nice.
    I love to watch the birds too, but we have not got many bluetits in our garden, mostly sparrows and starlings and of course our resident robin aptly named”Robbie”. One we had here last year would land on our plates while we ate outside, really amazing 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Cath yes I’ve got some really good plot neighbours who I regularly chat with, and often swop plants and produce.
      Sadly I don’t see many sparrows but there’s plenty of starlings around. I never cease to be surprised at stories I hear like this about robins. They really are such fearless little birds aren’t they. xx

  6. Glo says:

    Good to see you are enjoying your birds at home. Interesting about your squirrel, as I have had one frequenting the woodpecker block of food. I have some photos but haven’t posted them yet. Last night I found an empty peanut butter jar, dropped in some nuts in their shell (left over from last Christmas!) and hung it in the tree. The jar has a label with a squirrel on the front so hopefully the squirrel gets the picture! Your grapes look juicy and fresh. It was good to see that your Oakley still has its leaves ~ mine are long gone and it just has its twiggly bits.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo seeing, and watching, them brightens up the dullest of days at this time of year. The squirrel only appeared last week but I’m not surprised to see it as there are plenty of trees nearby, and probably more of them!
      Joe’s grapes which had just been picked were juicy and sweet. The mild autumn has delayed some leaves from changing colour and dropping. xx

  7. wellywoman says:

    I love watching the birds too. I can see our bird feeders from the kitchen window which makes washing up less of a chore. Although the birds are going through some amount of feed, they’ll be eating us out of house and home if they keep up at this rate!

Leave a Reply

