The plot trees – late November 2011

This follows on from the previous post on the plot trees which I did a couple of months ago.

The hawthorn has now lost most of its leaves, which I shall leave on the ground underneath it for the wildlife. It’s surprising just how thick the main stem is now that it’s visible. I’m hoping that next year it will flower, and then later on have berries.

The plum has also shed its leaves.Β  I’ve trimmed back a few of the branches as they were impedingΒ  me when walking past it.

The long planter is ready for the dwarf white lavender ‘Nana Alba’ that I have on order.

The little oak still has its leaves, which as you can see are just showing signs of starting to change colour.

The next post about the plot trees probably won’t be until next spring when they start showing signs of new growth.

I support The Tree Year where you can read about different trees that are being followed by bloggers around the world.

Happy Thanksgiving!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The plot trees – late November 2011

  1. Is the plum growing through the pallet – what will you do when the trunk gets bigger?

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Yes, that tree is thickening up, isn’t it! I didn’t know the lore of the hawthorn until I read a murder/mystery recently. Hope your lavender does well for you. I’ve planted some here and the purple ones are definitely more hardy.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it sure is! Yes there’s plenty of interesting hawthorn lore.
      Thanks I hope so. As well as the white ones I’m also getting purple ones which will be planted in two groups alongside the paths. More on these when I get, and plant, them. xx

  3. Doris says:

    I love these posts which show the progress of the trees. The Hawthorn picture has such beautiful colours and the tiny Oak is adorable! πŸ™‚

  4. Jo says:

    It’s been interesting seeing the hawthorn through all it’s stages. It will look lovely once it’s covered in flowers and berries, I’m sure the birds will be appreciative of some extra food.

  5. I clicked on the link to see the lavender that you’ve ordered and had to click back again quickly – I find Jekka’s Herb Farm far too tempting! Your plant will look very beautiful and unusual – not sure I’ve ever seen white lavender, very nice but I must remember: so many plants, so little space!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro mine are coming from elsewhere but I know what you mean. I haven’t either but I like white and this variety is a dwarf which should look good in the planter. xx

  6. Damo says:

    Love the little oak tree, best of luck nurturing it over the next few years.

  7. I’m with Damo, I really love that tiny but perfect oak tree.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet it’s amazing to think what it would become if left to grow. I’m always finding acorns that I presume jays and squirrels have buried on the plot. xx

Leave a Reply

