November notes

Yesterday was another glorious sunny, warm day which I made the the most of by spending several hours pondering and pottering.

The last touches of colour provided by a few flowers have now finished and it’s virtually all shades of brown and green. Still of interest are some plants that I’ve left alone such as the collomia which flowered back in the early summer and the crocosmia leaves which have only just started to die back in the past week or so.

The gladioli, which will be featured in a forthcoming Plot A to Z post,  came and went very quickly but the sword like leaves are still mostly green.

The brown teasels are always imposing at any time standing as high as they do.  I like to see them when they’re covered with a dusting of snow! Goldfinches love them for the seeds but I’ve never seen any on them so that remains on my plot wildlife wish list.

The dog rose lost it’s flowers and leaves ages ago but has since been covered with red hips providing one touch of welcome colour.

One area that I’ve not touched is the wild patch where the log pile and one of the ponds are. I only tidy it up in the early spring once everything has died back and there are signs of new growth. The wooden headboard, which has recently replaced some metal meshing, won’t be so noticable once the paint fades and the foliage covers it.

This morning, so far, is a much more typical November day being rather dank and misty.

Happy gardening!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to November notes

  1. Surprised to see you don’t have any Pot Marigolds left – mine are still in full bloom.

  2. Laydilejur says:

    There’s still so much going on in the plot, even in winter. Lovely!

  3. Jennyta says:

    Round here it’s the trees that are providing the colour. Other than that, everywhere seems to be dank and muddy.

  4. wellywoman says:

    You’ve been lucky to have sunshine. It has been dull, grey and damp here in Wales. The lack of sunshine does start to get to me after a while. I’m so impressed with your allotment and all the plants you’ve got there. How big is your plot? I love teasels too but I’ve only ever seen goldfinches on them once in someone else’s very big garden. We have got one goldfinch visiting the garden though. We put out some Nyjer seed which they’re partial to.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly lucky indeed! It’s been dull today though, and I think most people feel like that when there’s a lack of sunshine.
      Thanks, it’s a small half plot measuring about thirty by sixty feet of which well over a quarter I grow flowers on.
      As for seeing goldfinches I live in hope! xx

  5. mrs k says:

    We have a charm of Goldfinches who visit everyday. But they won’t touch Niger seed and never ever bother with the teasels or the sunflowers. I think we stall feed them with Hi-energy No mess seed.
    Still have roses, pansies, Mahonia (Sweet Charity) fuchsia et al blooming away like mad.
    Don’t do much tidying up till Spring.
    Flighty, love the bedhead, I have a steel bedhead as a climbing frame for some clematis and also the foot bit. Re-cycling or a cheapskate, got it off a skip.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K lucky you as they are such lovely birds.
      I’m not surprised at all the flowers we’re still seeing.
      Good idea and usually much of what I’ve done in recent weeks would have been left had the weather not been so good.
      Thanks, recyling like this is always worthwhile and I think all gardeners are always on the lookout for such items. xx

  6. Jo says:

    There’s still plenty of structure on your plot even if the flowers have faded. It will all look lovely once the foliage is glistening with either frost or snow. We’ve got a dank and misty day today too.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo the plot is exposed so it all helps. I like it when it’s like that on a really clear, crisp day. It hasn’t cleared at all here and is now starting to get dark! xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Glad you’re seeing a variety of shapes and colours even as winter draws near. I liked the burgundy shades of the rose hips.

  8. Louise says:

    I saw a Goldfinch on seedheads for the very first time in my garden this year. I did take a photo, but can I find it! x

Leave a Reply

