Sunshine and smiles

Last weekend was mostly sunny, and surprisingly warm, so I tidied up the pallet patio, shed and compost heap area on Saturday morning ready for painting on Sunday. It was mostly various shades of biscuit and is now all forest green.

In complete contrast yesterday morning started offย  decidedly cool and dull. I was tidying up the strawberry patch when I was joined by the new robin, almost certainly a male, who keep me company mostly perching on the nearby pot, visible in the above photo,ย  looking out for small insects that I had disturbed.

At home I’ve done one of my periodic checks of the stored potatoes and onions to see that they were all okay, which they are. I’m thinking about what varieties, and quantities, of these to grow next year as they’ll be on sale in the shed early next year.

So it’s been a week of sunshine and smiles which is always welcome, especially at this time of year.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sunshine and smiles

  1. Sounds like a lovely week Flighty, productive too. I am happy to see hints of blue sky this morning, the rest of the week has been “lights on during the day” dark and dank. Sadly my productivity is confined to the house, and painting, but hopefully I will make it to the plot at the weekend to harvest some veg and salad and do a little tidying!

  2. It’s all looking very neat and tidy Flighty – wish I could say the same. It’s amazing how Robins suddenly appear when you’re working isn’t it – I love to hear their song early in the morning.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine thanks! Yours may not be as neat and tidy but it’s looking pretty good all the same. Yes they always appear soon after I start plotting, and I do too. xx

  3. Jo says:

    The robin in my garden was perched on a branch right outside my window for most of the day yesterday, it’s lovely to see him visiting again. You’ve reminded me that I need to check my stored onions, I shall go and do that now.

  4. Donna says:

    That is all looking very smart and fresh.
    Still no birds in my garden but it is a bit bare at the moment.
    Did a little bit of tidying myself yesterday and built a frame with canes and flexi-balls to cover the baby cabbages.

    • Flighty says:

      Donna thanks. Rest assured that they’ll appear when all the berries have gone and it starts getting colder.
      Good for you, and you’ll need that to keep them from being eaten! xx

  5. oanh says:

    Your shed looks awesome, your onions lovely but a new plot robin! Pure joy in such a compact package. Hope there’s more sunshine for you (autumn was always my fave season in the UK).

  6. wellywoman says:

    Your plot is looking great, Flighty. All ready for a new season. I’m looking out of my window at the moment and it’s sunny and so mild I’ve got the windows open and washing on the line. I can’t believe its only 5 weeks to Christmas. Those are very good looking onions by the way.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Have always loved your little shed patio area and that unifying green looks great. Your onions are beautiful — perfectly shaped with smooth skins ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I love your patio and shed area Flighty. Is it just tools you fit in there ?
    I too love to see Robbie Robin around. We had one last year who use to land on our plates and eat the food in front of us!

    • Flighty says:

      Cath thanks. There’s a wooden chair, plastic watering can, bucket, spade, two forks, hoe, rake, shears, five and six foot bamboo canes plus various other small items such as a hand fork and trowel, secateurs, string, knives, metal cup and more!
      They really are a gardener’s friend aren’t they! xx

Leave a Reply

