Perhaps I spoke too soon…

last week when I wrote That’s all for this year..  I say that because if the mild weather continues then I’m probably going to have to do some weeding soon.

Yesterday I noticed that pot marigold seedlings have started appearing all over the plot, along with the unexpected sight of some nasturtiums.

On Sunday I was helping plot neighbour Trevor trolley some bags of compost from the shed across to his plot when we noticed some passion flowers tucked away in a sunny spot on the site.

This is an interesting article all about this topsy-turvy autumn.

If you liked the grass sofa that I linked to on Sunday then you may also like this.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Perhaps I spoke too soon…

  1. I agree – just when you thought it was safe to put the gardening tools away, everything starts growing again. The article was very interesting – and just confirms what we all know already – the world’s going bonkers. Love the grass bed – it looks really comfy.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I spent the morning plotting today which I found a bit of a mental effort! It was indeed, and that just about sums it up. Mmm I’d prefer the sofa I think. xx

  2. Jo says:

    The bed’s wonderful, though I wouldn’t fancy sleeping on it, think of all the spiders hiding in there. I love passion flowers, they’re such an unusual flower, but I’ve never grown them myself. I thought the lawn had had it’s final cut of the year a few weeks ago but I was just thinking this morning that it needs another cut. Perhaps we’ll get round to it if the weather stays fine, though I can’t ever remember cutting the grass in November before.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it brings a whole new meaning to bed bugs doesn’t it! I’m not keen on them as I find them much too fussy. Grass like everything just seems to keep on growing at present! xx

  3. Now that’s what I’d call a real raised bed – although I think I prefer your grass sofa idea! Just today I noticed that the hypericum shrub growing in the border at the bottom of my block has buds producing yellow flowers! It’s all muddled up and I’m sure there will be a hefty price to pay for all this unseasonal blossoming …

  4. wellywoman says:

    I was weeding at the allotment yesterday and today I was collecting leaves wearing a tshirt. I went into the garden this morning to take photos of the unusual plant combinations this weather has produced – hellebores flowering underneath an autumnal leaved acer. It’s my birthday today and I’ve never known weather like it. I’ve got Calendula seedlings poking through too. All very strange. Thanks for the link to the article, very interesting.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly happy birthday for yesterday! xx
      It really has been a notable year weatherwise, and I wonder what next year will be like.
      You’re welcome, I thought that others would find it of interest.

  5. Doris says:

    Here in my area (Montreal) we’re having a lovely November – pretty mild with lots of sunshine (except today) – and many trees are still in full leaf! I even saw a dragonfly last weekend! Strange but rather nice for now.

    • Flighty says:

      Doris it seems that unusual weather is prevalent world-wide. Although it is nice to see I do wonder what effects it will have over the short, and possibly even long, term. xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Seedlings, huh? Some pretty confused plants!

  7. We saw a rhododendron with a couple of clusters of flowers on it today, in the park. strange.

  8. Flighty that bed is simply amazing. The article, on the other hand, is disturbing, as is the crazy weather. Much as I love seeing the roses still in bloom, it isn’t “right”, and I would prefer to be waking to frosts and to feel comfortable that the garden – and the critters – were about their normal seasonal business.

Leave a Reply

