That’s all for this year…

as far as plotting is concerned. On Monday I cut the comfrey again, added the leaves to the compost heap which I then covered with a good layer of fine leaf and wood chip. I’ll leave it be now until the end of February or the beginning of March when I shall empty it.  That’s generally the first major job I do when I start plotting again. I look forward to doing it, especially if I have the robins keeping me company as I have previously.

Although I won’t be doing any more major plotting I’ll still be going there whenever I can just to have a potter round and take a few photos.

I don’t mind the winter too much, providing it’s not cold and wet, as there’s always plenty to do even if it’s only sofa flying with a good book, a cup of tea and a few biscuits.

Autumnwatch has reached the half way point and will now be coming from the wonderful Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust Reserve at Slimbridge.  Tomorrow’s programme will be on BBC2 at 8.30pm as usual and feature barnacle geese and magnificent Bewick’s swans.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to That’s all for this year…

  1. VP says:

    Crumbs I’ve still got loads to do 😦

    Happy sofa flying!

    xx

  2. Jo says:

    Aren’t you tempted to grow anything over winter, not even a few leeks or parsnips which don’t really need much tending to? My plot has been a bit neglected lately and I’ve still got most of the digging over to do, you put me to shame.

  3. I’m with VP, still loads to do up at the plot. Enjoy your pottering and sofa flying.

  4. wellywoman says:

    Hi Flighty,
    Its been so wet here recently (making up for the dry Summer and Autumn) that I haven’t been able to do too much on the plot. I need to go and pick some leeks this afternoon but I need to time it well or I’m going to get soaked. A spot of sofa flying sounds good.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly that’s usually the problem here at this time of year! Fingers crossed that you don’t get wet. It does indeed, and I think that we’ll all be doing it through the winter! xx

  5. Well done for being so organised! Other calls on my time mean that I also still have lots to do in the veg patch. I hate putting it all away for the winter and so am growing a few winter veg for the first time – even a small amount of time outdoors seems to lift the spirits. I hate to hurry towards winter but I really want to prune my 2nd year fruit trees and have been sofa flying reviewing a new book on the subject! Will be interested to follow your thoughts on the sofa blog (in fact have already gone in search of N. Slater’s book on English food!). Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks but it’s just been a steady routine rather than being really organised! I still go there as much as I can, and if the weather is good will find something to do such as a bit of digging. Me too but that does mean the spring will come quicker doesn’t it.
      You’ve reminded me that I must do a post over there! xx

  6. Donna says:

    I think I shall definitely get on the phone tomorrow and find out about plot waiting lists. I’m guessing they’ll be quite long so at least by the time I get one I’ll have a bit more experience.
    Do you always stop over the winter?

    • Flighty says:

      Donna do that as you never know, and don’t worry about having more experience!
      Yes me and the plot take a rest, and my aches and pains are worse through the winter which doesn’t help. However if the weather stays dry and mild then there things that I’ll do. xx

  7. Laydilejur says:

    Enjoy the rest, Flighty, and happy Sofa-flying 🙂

  8. Laydilejur says:

    Enjoy the rest, Flighty, and happy Sofa-flying 🙂

  9. Laydilejur says:

    I really, really mean it 😉

  10. Glad to hear you are all up to date on the plot – I dug up some parsnips this morning, not as big as I normally get but the dry year hasn’t helped. This morning there were loads of birds singing when I went to the allotment – it sounded almost like a summer morning. Have a good weekend.
    Elaine

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine thanks! I hope that they tasted good though.
      Lucky you, it was mostly dull and wet here today so there weren’t many birds around.
      You too! xx

  11. nikkipolani says:

    You make it sound like embarking on a vacation from plot chores! I know you’ll miss some aspects, but you’ll also enjoy cosy times with your book and biscuits 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki that sounds about right! I think that I finished it all just in time as there’s been lots of rain the past couple of days with more to come. I will indeed, but cosy times sounds good to me! xx

  12. Glo says:

    Glad to hear the weather worked along with you toward tidying up the plot for its winter rest. I like to look for signs of spring during autumn. Seed heads are visible, sometimes wrapped in protective coatings all ready for their winter sleep before popping up again with fresh life 🙂 Our paths and gardens are blanketed with colourful leaves. We have had lovely weather for the most part so the colour has been gorgeous. The darker and cooler evenings have meant cosy firelight, and more reading too 🙂 Your TV series sound terrific.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I’ve been really lucky with the weather over the past few weeks which has made all the difference. There are some flower seedlings already appearing on the plot.The autumn colours here have been great as well.
      Cosy firelight and reading sounds good to me! It’s been most enjoyable so far. xx

  13. I was just going to ask if you planted anything for the winter,when I saw Jo’s comment. As said, a few leeks ,parsnips and onions are really easy to grow.
    Autumn color here in Ireland is not as spectacular as previous years. More of a muddy brown colour!
    I hope you do think about winter sowing next year, it’s great to get out on a crisp,cold winter day and see the greenery:)
    Cheers, Catherine.

    • Flighty says:

      Catherine hello! I’m a bit lazy really as a plot neighbour always gives me a few leeks and parsnips but next year I’ll have a go at growing my own.
      It’s a shame that your autumn colours are a bit muted.
      I still go to the plot through the winter especially on crisp, cold days which I like. xx

  14. Annie_H says:

    Its nice to wind down a bit over winter I agree, it makes you all the more enthusiastic for next year. I’ve still got stuff to do at mine as I only took it on last January and whilst most of the plot was cultivated this year I’ve some bits that need some attention so will try and get that done on the nice days. I do enjoy getting cosy at home, though, with some gardening books and seed catalogues to plan for next year. Enjoy your sofa flying!

    • Flighty says:

      Annie hello and welcome! I’m always enthusiastic but find it takes me a week or so to get going again in the spring. There’s always things that can be done through the winter so it’s good to have some nice days.
      Me too, and although I’ve already got nearly all my seeds I do still enjoy looking through the catalogues. Thanks, you too! xx

Leave a Reply

