Ponds, a mouse and gazanias

Last Monday I sorted out both ponds which I had somewhat neglected this year.  I moved the dustbin lid one about ten feet down the plot so that it’s now near the shed. Plot neighbour Trevor gave me some stones six of which I’ve used to replace the smaller pebbles. It’s deliberately on the slant so that the water levels vary, and reflected in the picture are some teasel seed heads. I’m hoping that in this new, exposed position birds might use it for drinking and even bathing.

Yesterday I dug up the clump of Jerusalem artichokes down at the bottom, south-east corner of the plot as I’m planning to have some sunflowers there instead.  Whilst doing that I could hear several parakeets squawking away close by and looked up to see four on the sunflower stems at the other end of the plot.

One day I’ll get a photo of them but never mind as I did get some of  a mouse! It appeared from under the hawthorn then worked its way through the mallows stopping now then to feed. Apart from catching a quick glimpse of one on the compost heap a couple of years ago I’ve never seen any on the plot.  I watched this one for several minutes and got surprisingly close to it.Back in the summer I planted some gazanias in the planters which sadly got eaten within a few days. However one has not only regrown but has now flowered!

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Ponds, a mouse and gazanias

  1. Laydilejur says:

    Awww, the photos of the mouse are wonderful! So cute (although I wouldn’t want them near the house – they wouldn’t be so cute then, I’m afraid).

  2. Jo says:

    You must be well pleased with those pictures of the mouse, they’re brilliant. I bet the birds appreciate those teasels, it’s a good idea to move the pond near them, I hope it sees some bird action soon. Gazanias are lovely flowers, glad one managed to make it.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks, I am indeed. I’m sure the birds do, especially goldfinches, but I’ve never seen any on them, and I’ve actually moved the pond further away from them! They are so I’ll probably try again next year. xx

  3. mrs k says:

    House mouse or Field mouse?

  4. How wonderful to see – and get a photo – of the mouse! Hope the birds enjoy the new pond location.

  5. Hasn’t your mouse got huge feet – you must be quick on the draw with your camera, wildlife never seems to stay still enough for me to snap them.

  6. Doris says:

    Love the mouse pictures! They are quite adorable creatures but usually too quick for a photo!

  7. nikkipolani says:

    How cute is THAT! The little mouse seems quite at home and was nice he posed for a photo for your bloggy friends 🙂 The little pond looks very bird-friendly with the new bigger rocks. Hope it gets good use.

  8. wellywoman says:

    Ooooo I love the mouse photos. I don’t have much luck taking wildlife photos. They are generally out of focus with just a wing tip or beak visible because I haven’t been quick enough. Love the idea of the dustbin lid in the ground. I might try that on the plot next year.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly thanks. I take lots just to end up with a few really good ones. I think that patience is as much a factor as being quick is.
      Those, and washing up bowls, make really good small ponds. xx

  9. Glo says:

    Well, here I am at last. Sorry I have not been commenting but I have been reading 🙂 I’ve just been as quiet as a mouse … oh, you caught me on film, then, didn’t you … haha. Great shots! From frog, to robin and then to mouse… different characters taking turns in your camera. It was good to see Frog Newton’s pond resurface and I think that the rocks will serve your wildlife well. I have recently read that shiny marbles in birdbaths attract birds, so I have added some shiny blue and green glass stones into mine. The autumn leaves and needles fall and float on top, but I can still see the shiny bits, and birds have been in there. Just a thought that you may want to add some too.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks for a lovely comment.
      It’s interesting to look back at the wildlife that I’ve seen and photographed on the plot.
      I shall have to find a few shiny stones for my pond. xx

Leave a Reply

