When I get older

When I’m 64 is a classic Beatles song which includes these rather appropriate lyrics…

Doing the garden, digging the weeds,

Who could ask for more?

I mention this as tomorrow is my 64th birthday!

Apart from opening a few birthday cards and a couple of presents it will otherwise be just another ordinary Monday.

However I’m celebrating today as later on I’ll be enjoying a superb home cooked Sunday roast followed by apple and blackberry crumble with custard thanks to a couple of longtime friends, who are also both keen gardeners.

Of all the many flowers that I’ve grown this year here are a couple that I’ve not shown before, and which are among my favourites.

A stunning pot marigold

A dark spiky sunflower

Have a good week, and happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to When I get older

  1. Amazing blooms I need to get better at colour in my garden! roll on next season!

  2. Donna says:

    Happy Birthday for tomorrow Flighty, sounds like you are going to have a lovely meal!! Enjoy your day!! xxx

  3. Jennyta says:

    Many happy returns, Flighty. Remember, the sixties are the new forties. 😉

  4. Oanh says:

    Happy happy birthday, Flighty. I will still love you, when you’re 64.

  5. alison says:

    happy birthday flighty!! have a great yummy dinner! and oh my! what lovely flowers!! love love love! *hugs*

  6. VP says:

    Happy birthday for tomorrow Flighty! Sounds like today’s celebration will be a good one.

    *carrying on with the musical theme to this post* – An ordinary Monday sounds much better than a Manic Monday 😉

    xxx

  7. Laydilejur says:

    Wow! Great blooms, great photos! Have a lovely day today, enjoy your birthday meal and Happy Birthday for tomorrow xx

  8. Carlie says:

    And Happy Birthday from me, Flightly – I hope you’re having roast CHICKEN today! Yum xx

  9. Happy Birthday me old china – I have posted a special pin for you on Pinterest:-
    When you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward;
    for there you have been and there you will always be.
    Henry van Dyke.
    Have a lovely day.

  10. wellywoman says:

    I hope you have a lovely birthday, Flighty. I’m salivating at the thought of that Apple and Blackberry crumble. Best wishes x

  11. Happy Birthday Flighty, enjoy your special day…

  12. Bill says:

    A very happy birthday, Flighty. Hope you have many more.

  13. Anthony says:

    Have a very happy birthday and here’s to another happy year!!! 🙂

  14. Jo says:

    Many Happy Returns for tomorrow, Flighty. Hope the year ahead is healthy and happy. The photo of the pot marigold is fantastic, it would look brilliant on a canvas.

  15. Glo says:

    Have a happy birthday Flighty 🙂
    and here’s to many more!
    Although the year’s pass oh so fast
    You’re only sixty-four!

  16. Happy Birthday for tomorrow Flighty, and I hope you don’t wake up humming the Boomtown Rats’ only real hit… Beautiful flowers, desert sounds fabulous.

  17. Happy birthday, Flighty and may there be many happy returns of the day!

  18. Doris says:

    Happy Birthday Flighty! And thank you for the gift of the gorgeous flower photos!

  19. nikkipolani says:

    Hope your day was as gloriously happy as those pretty flowers you’ve posted. Speaking of posting, I did make it to the post office today with… 😉

  20. Mavis says:

    Belated Birthday Greetings.
    I realise from the answers to the comments, that you had a wonderful day, here is hoping that the next 364 are the same.

  21. Oh I missed your birthday, Flighty! I’m so sorry not to have wished you well on the day but, reading through the above, it seems you’ve had lots of good wishes for your birthday. Happy Birthday from me also; glad the day, and celebration meal, were hugely enjoyable and I wish you many more to come! (PS Thanks for good wishes for my Mum; she’s out of the forest, if not yet out of the woods.) Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro that’s okay there’s no need to be sorry as birthdays on blogs are often spread over several days, or longer!
      Many thanks for your kind words, and it’s good to know that your mum is on the mend. xx

  22. Karen says:

    Another late birthday wish coming your way xx

  23. Anonymous says:

    Belated Happy Birthday! Sounds like you had a lovely time.
    Stunning photos, I love pot marigolds so vibrant.

Leave a Reply

