More autumn plotting

The weather has continued dry, mostly sunny but much cooler, with even a touch of overnight frost. I’ve been making the most of it by doing more autumn plotting, and I’ve now done virtually all the digging and general tidying up that I wanted to do.

Plot neighbour George kindly gave me this Genista yesterday which I planted in the top north-east corner of the plot. It’s almost three feet tall, and since the biggest of George’s is well over ten feet I’m guessing that it’s a Genista aetnensis. As you can see it’s still flowering.

The plot focal point at the moment are the white Michaelmas daisies near the shed. It’s another plant that George gave me a couple of years ago.

This lovely small Michaelmas daisy, which is an Aster novi-belgii ‘Lady in Blue’, is in the square planter. It was given to me last year by Martin, an ex trading shed helper, who also gave me these ones and the nerines.

The robin now visits every time I’m on the plot but I’ve yet to get a good picture of this one, and on Monday whilst I was digging it was briefly joined by another one.  There were also two parakeets on the sunflowers, but typically I had muddy hands and the camera was in the shed. More unusal sightings were a blue tit and a sparrow(?).

I’ve still been picking a handful of blackberries, and even a few raspberries. I read recently that it’s been a woeful year for blackberries but it certainly hasn’t been for me!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to More autumn plotting

  1. Jo says:

    I see there’s still lots of colour to be found on your plot. I haven’t even started the autumn tidy up of the allotment yet, it’s been neglected whilst I’ve been concentrating on the garden, I’m sure I’ll get there in the end. How lovely to have the robins around again, I still haven’t seen any here yet.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo there is but sadly getting less by the day. Bear in mind that I don’t have a garden which means less to do than you have. Both robins were about whilst I was there this morning, with one getting ever closer. xx

  2. Donna says:

    How silly it is when it’s a rare treat to see a sparrow!! Today has been a lovely morning here, hope there are a few more to come before we all barricade ourselves indoors.

    • Flighty says:

      Donna I know but sadly they’re a bird I rarely see hereabouts. Yes it’s been another lovely day here so I spent all morning plotting with two robins keeping me company. xx

  3. wellywoman says:

    Apparently the warm Spring meant blackberries flowered a lot earlier than normal but then the dry spell meant the fruit didn’t swell. Here in Wales the blackberry crop doesn’t seen to have to badly affected. Some of the early fruits were a bit scrawny but later fruits have been much bigger. It’s sad Sparrows a rare now in some places. They are a lovely little bird.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly mind started early and have been big and juicy, and I had the last few this morning. Sparrows have declined noticeably in recent years, and sadly in places like London are not seen at all nowadays. It’s a shame because, as you say, they are lovely little birds. xx

    • It’s not been dry in Wales this week has it Wellywomen? We have a flock of sparrows live in the ivy at work, so I get to see plenty.

  4. We have had a sparrow hawk hanging round for a few days and I’ve seen him swooping round near the feeders – not a lot I can do about that unless I take the feeders down. Although it’s sunny here it still jolly chilly especially first thing in the morning, but I suppose we have been lucky with these mini heatwaves we’ve been having – winter has to come sometime I suppose.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I’d be in two minds what to do! Chilly here first thing but nice once it starts to warm up. As you say we have been lucky, and fingers crossed that it continues. xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    How sweet is that Genista! Looks like a bit of spring 🙂

  6. I wish I could claim to be as up-to-date on plotting tasks as you are Flighty! Still, the weekend looks like being reasonable, so maybe I will get a little closer. Enjoy your lovely flowers as you work! And your feathered friends.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I’ve spent more time plotting than I normally do taking advantage of the good weather. I enjoy both, although the flowers are diminishing by the day sadly. xx

  7. Carrie says:

    Flighty petal – it is just a joy to see your plot and flowers and oh my the sunshine. We haven’t had any of that lovely stuff. Going tommorrow even if there is hurricane! xx

Leave a Reply

