I know it’s Thursday…

but I’m just doing a rather brief post today!

It’s been dry, warm and sunny at times here all week and I’ve been plotting in shirtsleeves. I also did a double take when I saw that a few California Poppies were flowering.

That’s it for today except to thank Louise for sharing these wonderful wildlife pictures with me over on Twitter which I thought I would share with you.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I know it’s Thursday…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Weather is still weird in west of Scotland….up on roof today and numerous wasps, flies etc still about. including a large Red Admiral butterfly…and several lovely skeins of geese around our local loch.

    ..probably will be snowing tomorrow!

    • Flighty says:

      Anonymous hello it would be nice to know who you are!
      Lucky you seeing the butterfly, and I guess that the geese indicate that it really is autumn. I do hope not!

  2. Mo says:

    It has been dull and grey and damp up here πŸ™‚
    Your poppies are a nice splash of colour.
    The mouse is great! Thanks for the link.

  3. Our gentle London autumn has been much appreciated by me – walking on Hampstead Heath yesterday I saw not one but several robins in the undergrowth and, I think, a small blue tit who flew off very quickly! I loved your last post on all the flowers still blooming, lucky you being able to plot amongst all that colour! I particularly liked the pale yellow sunflower with the milkmaid nasturtiums beneath. Lovely! Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro that’s sounds good to me! All the birds are getting much more noticeable now.
      Thanks, I’ve made the most of them as I guess that the colder nights will finish them off before long. Yes the pale yellow combination works well doesn’t it. xx

  4. Sounds perfect Flighty. It wasn’t that warm here, but I do have one solitary Californian poppy left in the back garden.

  5. Doris says:

    I am so glad you posted and included the link to the harvest mouse photos. I am very envious of the photographer but enjoyed the pictures immensely. : -)

  6. It has been good weather to work outdoors these last few days and I noticed a group of four pied wagtails on the roof and on my way to town this morning saw four male pheasants in a group also – usually you only see on their own. My California Poppies have re-seeded already.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Warm and sunny, huh? How lovely to have good weather to plot with πŸ˜‰ California poppies… that was me waving hello!

  8. Jo says:

    So that’s where the sun’s been, we haven’t seen it here since the mini heatwave. It’s been rather warm but drizzly all week.

  9. Louise says:

    Thank you so much for the mention Flighty. It’s a toss up between the harvest mouse and those red squirrels from the other week, which is/are the cutest! The weather this weekend too has been amazing. I have managed to do some tidying around the garden, but there is still much to do. Thank you for keeping in touch on Twitter, and apologise for the bombardment of biking and twaddle tweets, which no doubt swamp your timeline! x

  10. Flighty says:

    Louise you’re welcome, and I’ve just realised that I didn’t link to your blog as I meant to do! I think that the harvest mouse wins by a whisker. It sure has, and I spent another enjoyable morning on the plot.
    Again you’re welcome, and there’s certainly no need to apologise as they’re not overwhelming! xx

  11. Karen says:

    Glad to read you’re feeling better Flighty, those poppies are cheerful. Weather set to stay nice until Tuesday here, then down comes the rain!

Leave a Reply

