So much colour

In contrast to last Saturday this morning was cool, dull and windy. I was at the plot early and had only just arrived when I saw, and heard, several parakeets flying round low overhead with one of them then setting down on top of one of my sunflowers.

Looking round it’s good to still see so much colour. All these photos I took today, click on any of the pictures to see a larger image.

Here are the purple and white Michaelmas daisies, the latter which has very small, finger nail size, flowers.  There are also some yellow pot marigolds, a sunflower and, up in the sky, a handful of Jerusalem artichoke flowers.

The cosmos seem to be more prolific then ever with lots of buds and flowers.  They, along with everything else, should keep going until the first frost. Across the road on Fran’s plot are a border of French marigolds.

The colourful nasturtiums seem to have been flowering forever. These can seen through the sweetcorn stems, and in the foreground is some recently sown phacelia which is starting to flower.

Elsewhere is this lemon yellow sunflower and similar coloured nasturtiums.

Insects are making the most of the flowers, like this honey bee on a small sunflower.

If all that is not enough then I can look across at the dahlias on a nearby plot.

Happy, and colourful, gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to So much colour

  1. Jo says:

    Wow, somebody likes their dahlias, what a riot of colour. It’s nice to see that there’s still so much in bloom on your plot, it does lift the spirits to see some splashes of colour, especially on a gloomy day, as it is today. We’ve had continual drizzle all day, no plotting for me today.

  2. wellywoman says:

    Lovely photos, Flighty. Your plot is still looking good. I went to pick some asters the other day and they were covered in honey bees. I felt a little guilty about picking the flowers and depriving them of some nectar and pollen. So I picked a few and left the rest.

  3. Laydilejur says:

    It’s always a delight to read your posts, Flighty, and you take such wonderful photos too!

  4. Laydilejur says:

    Thanks, Flighty. It’s been a busy couple of months and Carlie and I have some catching up to do on our blogs. She seems so grown up now already! We’ll be posting soon though xx

  5. It has been drizzling on and off here all day – pretty miserable – I have hardly set foot out of the house, except to pick some beetroot. Your plot is looking very tidy and I see you have been doing a bit of digging. A bit of colour on your plot certainly brightens up a dull day

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine it’s been a sofa flying day there by the sound of it. Don’t tell anyone but I try not to show the untidy bits! Yes I’ve done lots of digging, and thankfully nearly done now until the spring. It sure does! xx

  6. Colin says:

    The parakeets are interesting, Flighty. Around Kirkby Stephen in Cumbria we often see bright blue and orange parrots which have escaped from an aviary and are now naturalized and breeding. A bit disconcerting when you’re driving to suddenly have half a dozen large orange birds fly across the road in front of you.

    Colin Robinson

    • Flighty says:

      Colin their stronghold is near Twickenham rugby ground, and there are thousands of them in this part of the country. They’ve bred well because their natural home is the foothills of the Himalayas. Your parrots sound even more interesting and colourful!

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Those masses of m-daisies are glorious! You’ve got the whole rainbow here with nasturtiums still hanging on and sunflowers brightening their corner. Your plot neighbor’s dahlias are putting on quite a show! I’ve seen them here and there in the garden blogs and am contemplating some. Though with the bags of bulbs and small handful of seeds to plant today, I may talk myself out of it yet.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, they sure are. Everything will stay in flower until the first frost, which last year was mid October. I don’t grow dahlias mainly because they need lots of space and plenty of attention. xx

  8. Doris says:

    Great pictures. I feel like I am right there!

  9. Karen says:

    Beautiful Parakeets! I’ve never seen any although I hear they are spotted here in Bedfordshire. Lovely Cosmos Flighty, mine are still going strong too although only the white or very pale pink flowers remain.

  10. Mo says:

    Lovely to see all that colour when I have spent a weekend indoors butchering 🙂
    The photo of the dahlias reminds me of our garden when it was my Grandad’s domain, especially with the greenhouse in the background. He grew dahlias for showing. I’ve never liked them because of the earwigs they attract 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Mo thanks, and rather you than me with the butchering.
      All the ones in the photo are grown for showing, and I’ve always been in two minds about liking them! xx

  11. How lovely. I have a mass of dahlias on a neighbouring plot that make me smile every time I get up there, and the cosmos is prolific this year. Even my sunflowers have finally decided to make a showing! We’ll miss it come November.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet this is one of two neighbouring plots full of dahlias! Yes the cosmos have been brilliant, and I’ve still got a few sunflowers appearing. We sure will! xx

Leave a Reply

