Happy and hot

I’m happy to say that on Thursday I saw a robin on the plot for the first time since the spring. Here it is on top of one of the old sunflower stems.

I also saw another greenfinch on one of this year’s sunflowers.

It’s been hot here, approaching 30C (around 85F), which has triggered my aches and pains so much so that I’ve resorted to taking some medication despite the side effects being nearly as bad.

Doing anything has been a real effort so my apologies if I’ve not commented on friend’s blogs as I usually do. Hopefully all will be back to normal in a day or two.

I leave you with a picture of one of the Michaelmas Daisies now in full flower, which has been attracting lots of bees.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Happy and hot

  1. Jennyta says:

    Sorry you have had problems, Flighty. You should move up here to north Wales – this morning it is grey and overcast and raining – back to normal, in fact!

  2. Sorry to hear you’re not feeling too good – hope you’re back to normal soon. I’m afraid I don’t do to well in the hot weather – I stay indoors to keep cool so all the jobs in the garden I envisaged doing have all gone by the board sadly – but I’m sure they will keep till it gets cooler. Keep your chin up!

  3. wellywoman says:

    I’m sorry to hear the weather makes you feel unwell. I’ve just caught some virus like chicken pox, I’m fortunately not contagious but I am incredibly itchy and covered in a rash which isn’t helped by the heat. Didn’t get much sleep. I’m still trying to appreciate the sunshine though, I suffer from SAD so I’m not looking forward to winter. I was up at the plot this morning picking some flowers but its going to be too hot for anything more labour intensive. I’ve noticed the robins returning too, they’re getting very territorial as well, chasing off other birds.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly thanks. I don’t like the sound of that and hope that you get better soon!
      That’s about all I did yesterday morning on the plot.
      That’s typical of robins! xx

  4. Hope you feel brighter soon flighty, I know a lot of people have found this weather hard going, I tried some gardening, but quickly gave up, it was just too uncomfortable.

  5. VP says:

    Sorry to hear the hot weather’s affecting you, but good to see that robin on your plot 🙂

    We’ve had a chiff chaff going great guns near us, which is surprising. I don’t think I’ve heard one at this time of the year before. We went out for a fabulous meal on Friday evening and elected to mull over the menu on the lawn at sunset. We were accompanied by an owl hooting in the woods!

    • Flighty says:

      VP I suppose I should be thankful that we didn’t have a long, hot summer! Seeing the robin(s) always lifts my spirits.
      I don’t think that I’ve ever heard, and certainly not seen, a chiff chaff. That sounds rather idyllic, it’s been years since I last heard, or saw, an owl. xx

  6. Oh dear, what a shame when everyone’s enjoying a last burst of warmth that it has a poor effect on you. It feels a bit cooler today with a good breeze over my part of North London so I hope the same can be said for your area and you’re feeling a bit better. I’m lucky that the veg patch is shaded after 2 pm so it’s very nice to be outside then! Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro it’s only been the last couple of days, and it felt much better today thanks to that breeze.
      I work on the plot in the mornings, especially when it’s warm, as there’s no shade. xx

  7. Donna says:

    Hope you feel better soon! I was in London for Friday and Saturday and it was sooooo hot. Back home today it is still warm but overcast at least with a bit of drizzle. I’m hoping to get my onions and garlic in this week.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Flighty! That shot of m-daisies is spectacular! Looks all sunshiny and healthy. Glad you have a wonderful burst of colour before the winter nap. So sorry about the aches and the wretched meds for the aches! Not a nice choice, is it. HUGS

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I find it a difficult flower to get a good photo of. There’s still lots of colour of the plot with the cosmos and nasturtiums, which should keep going until the first frost.
      Thanks, I had a couple of really bad days which thankfully is a rare occurrence. xx

  9. Mo says:

    Beautiful Michaelmas Daisies! And it’s good to know that your Robin is back 🙂
    Hope you’re feeling better.

  10. Jo says:

    Hope you’re feeling better today, Flighty. How awful that the medication makes you feel bad too, it’s the case of the lesser of two evils. Those Michaelmas Dasies are a gorgeous colour, and nice to see a robin back on the plot, I haven’t seen any lately.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo yes thanks I’m much better today! Not surprisingly it has to be pretty bad for me to take the medication. They are, and I’ve also got a brighter purple one and a white one. I’m sure that you’ll start to see robins again soon. xx

  11. Ouch, that doesn’t sound like much fun Flighty, hope the cooler weather brings rapid relief. Great news about the robin though.

  12. Carrie says:

    Oh feel better soon sweet Flighty. I shall try to send you some of our grey-ness here in N. Ireland 🙂 xxx

  13. menhir says:

    We live in two different weather world in the same kingdom. I do hope you perk up soon Mr F. I’m sorry the weather conditions you have/had not been helpful to you. You’ve certainly given us some lovely pictures though.

    I’ve seen either one robin or several different ones, one at a time, on our fence over a period of time. Are they a portent of seasonal information do you think?

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir we do indeed! I’m much perkier now that the weather is back to ‘normal’. Thanks.
      Robins are around all year but much more noticeable through the coming months, which is why we tend to associate them with winter and Christmas. xx

  14. Ellie says:

    Sorry to hear you were under the weather. I would too, at those temperatures. Thankfully living on the coast means the breeze made things bearable but I didn’t feel like working too hard in the sun. Hope you are back to normal now. x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie thanks! I think that the hot weather triggered the way I felt but thankfully it only lasted a couple of days. Pleasant coastal breezes make all the difference don’t they. xx

Leave a Reply

