TV, books and Pinterest

Tomorrow’s Gardeners’ World is a special programme with the four presenters each visiting one of the RHS gardens to see how each one’s climate affects the plants that they grow. As usual it’s on BBC2 at 8.30pm.

This year’s Autumnwatch starts a week tomorrow with Michaela Strachan replacing Kate Humble, who’s not available as she’s filming abroad. More on programme times, where it’s coming from and what we’ll be seeing next week.

Coming soon on BBC2 is Bees, Butterflies and Blooms a new three part series presented by Sarah Raven. More details about this once showing dates are known.

Val Bourne’s The Natural Gardener is one of my favourite gardening books. Thanks to Wellywoman’s Book Review I see that she has three new books out soon.  Last weekend in The Telegraph there was this Val Bourne interview which I enjoyed reading.

It’s really good weather here at present with plenty of warm sunshine, and for some of us perhaps even a touch too warm. This elephant has the right idea for cooling down! You’ll also notice that in the link Elaine refers to Pinterest where she’s an avid pinner.  I wondered what she was on about so had a look and must say that it looks rather interesting, so much so that I’ve joined as Sofaflyer. Give me a week or two to settle in and I’ll come back to it in another post.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to TV, books and Pinterest

  1. Glo says:

    Many fascinating TV programmes coming up, Flighty, and always great to find new books of interest especially those by a favorite author. I have also seen many bloggers using Pinterest and think it’s a great way of keeping track of reference finds ~ perhaps when the winter cold rolls in I’ll have more time to check it out. I am finding that I hardly watch TV at all these days, however I do have an HD channel “Oasis” which is all about nature.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I’m looking forward to them, and the new books by Val Bourne are a real bonus.
      I was only going to have a quick look at Pinterest but several hours later….!
      I watch very little TV nowadays and I’m thankful for books and the PC. Your Oasis TV channel sounds interesting. xx

  2. Mo says:

    Boooo! No Kate Humble?? Since Bill Oddie left, she’s the only ‘good one’ left 🙂
    I found Pinterest through Carrie’s Blog 🙂 I haven’t pinned much yet, I don’t want to pin all my own pics so I need to do some surfing 🙂

  3. Jo says:

    I’m looking forward to Gardeners World this week, it might spur me in to taking another trip to Harlow Carr, I really should go more often whilst I’ve got RHS membership. I’m staying well away from Pinterest, I spend too much time on the pc as it is and it sounds highly addictive.

  4. Who needs the Radio Times with you around Flighty – but it’s good to be reminded as if I’m not careful I miss some good programmes. I must agree with Jo about Pinterest – it is addictive – but you find some lovely stuff – like the happy hefalump that you mentioned on my blog. Plenty more where that came from. Elaine xx

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I sure that still enjoy looking through the Radio Times. You certainly seem to have taken to Pinterest, and found lots of wonderful images for me to look at! xx

  5. p.s. I don’t know whats going on with WordPress at the moment but all my email subscriptions from WordPress are coming up blank. Boo.

  6. jo2bee says:

    Looking forward to Autumnwatch – will take me back to my childhood watching Michaela Strachan and Chris Packham together on the TV again. I have joined Pinerest but not sure I really “get” it.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Frankly, Flighty, I’m a little afraid of Pinterest… I’m afraid I’ll get hooked and the remaining itsy bit of spare time I have left will get swallowed up! But I’ll check back with you and see how you like it. Happy weekend 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it’s interesting but I won’t say that I’m hooked! Give me a few weeks and I’ll mention it again, with an addiction warning if need be. Thanks, you too! xx

  8. wellywoman says:

    Ooohhhh I’d forgotten about Autumnwatch coming up (I don’t know where September has gone), it’s one of my favourite programmes and great to hear Michaela is presenting. I love Kate but I’m sure Michaela and Chris together will have the same chemistry they had from their really Wild Show days. I’m really looking forward to Sarah Raven’s programme, I love to see natural history programmes about our own wildlife.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly it’s always good to watch, and does seem to come around again much too quickly.
      I shall mention the Sarah Raven programmes in more detail later on. xx

  9. Damo says:

    Looking forward to Autumnwatch coming soon, doesn’t seem long ago since spring, the seasons pass so quickly!

  10. VP says:

    Looking forward to see what you make of pinterest. I’ve had a look a couple of times because people have pinned some of my photos (and therefore it’s come up in my site stats). I wonder if there’s any potential copyright issues?

    Like Elaine, my WP notifications are blank too, but not when I view my mail via Google Chrome.

    • Flighty says:

      VP I’m finding it enjoyable so far. This what Pinterest states on copyright

      I’ll have a look at the WordPress forums tomorrow and see if it’s been mentioned, if not I’ll raise the matter. xx

      • VP says:

        Thanks Flighty for putting up the link to the copyright information. Unfortunately I believe it’s not enough for someone to pin a photo on Pinterest with a link back to the original blog, unless it’s their own of course. I think I might be facing a similar issue with the daily Twitter newspaper I make public 😦

        If someone knows more about where we stand on this, I’d really like to hear their thoughts on the matter.

Leave a Reply

