The plot trees – autumn 2011

It’s been far too long since I last posted about the plot trees but there really has been very little to report.

I keep trimming the hawthorn to keep it in bounds as it is a very spiky tree.  Sadly it didn’t flower back in the spring but I’m hopeful that now that it’s bigger, and more mature, that it will next year. Although I keep an eye on it I’ve yet to see any wildlife on it apart from the robin.

The plum tree has grown considerably and is now around six feet tall. Growing where it does, through the patio pallet, I now have to go round it to reach the shed. Like the hawthorn I’ve seen no wildlife on it.

There are several very small oak trees which have probably grown from acorns buried by jays or, more likely,  squirrels. This is the smallest, being just a few inches tall, but thanks to it’s distinctive leaves it is unmistakably an Oakley. If left to grow then it would eventually emulate this magnificent oak.

As we head into autumn all three will lose their leaves, and I shall hopefully do my next post about them towards the end of the year.

I support The Tree Year where you can read about different trees that are being followed by bloggers around the world.

[Click on any thumbnail to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The plot trees – autumn 2011

  1. VP says:

    We have a magnificent oak on our allotment site – the acorns are currently dropping down onto the metal shed and making me jump!

  2. Mo says:

    Your Hawthorn is unrecognisable! I have to say it did look a little weedy on your earlier post 😉 It looks very healthy. It’s good to see the Plum doing well too.
    We have no oaks 😦
    I have neglected to post about Rowan for a while and you have prompted me into thinking about writing about him again, thanks 🙂

  3. alison says:

    i like the magnificent oak tree. it’s so beautiful. xx

  4. I love oak trees. I don’t suppose I will ever be lucky enough to have one of my own, if such trees can ever be owned, but they are so quintessentially English Countryside to me. I’d not heard of the Tree Year Project, will check it out.

  5. Like Janet, I’ve just browsed over to the Tree Project – what a great header photo! Love the idea behind this as I’ve been fascinated all this year by a very overgrown hebe in the walled border waiting to be cleared. I don’t want to lose the hebe because it’s been buzzing with bees all summer (I even managed to get a couple of videos!) but it’s so big now – over 8 feet tall and 6 feet wide – that it needs to be trimmed back which I think will take it back to dead wood. What do you think, Flighty, would it survive a heavy prune in the spring? Caro x

  6. Our field is surrounded by huge ash trees which means lots of saplings in my allotment garden – it’s okay if you spot them early and are able to pull them up – but they lurk where you can’t see them, and before you know it you have a mini forest. Thank goodness there are no nearby oak trees or I would be in real trouble.

  7. Jo says:

    We’ve been for a walk this morning and noticed that the trees are starting to lose their leaves now. It won’t be long before there’s scrunchy leaves underfoot.

  8. Doris says:

    So nice to see how things are progressing! The tiny oak is cute and hard to imagine it could become such a magnificent tree given the right conditions.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    How cute is your little oakley. Will you let it grow up or is it in an inconvenient spot?

  10. Glo says:

    I was quite taken by your tiny Oakley too ~ you’ve shown it in a lovely light. You’ve done a great job of caring for your plot trees so they stay compact. They do seem to have a mind of their own … and grow like crazy (around here, anyway!)

  11. Louise says:

    Come to think of it I can’t recall seeing anything but birds in our Hawthorn trees. x

  12. Donna says:

    Your “patio pallet” made me giggle!

Leave a Reply

