Augurs of autumn…

said Oanh in her comment on my last post refering to the robins that have now reappeared.  She wasn’t sure if she should wish that they visit the plot soon or not but I’ll be more than happy when they do.

A couple of weeks ago many people were worried that there were few birds to be seen in their back gardens and contacted the RSPB about it.  They helpfully responded with this news post Birds out for dinner to reassure people that they’ll soon be back.

Working on the plot on Monday I looked up to see what I’m fairly sure was a sparrowhawk jinking through the sky just behind a small bird which escaped by diving into the nearby trees.

During last weekend I had read this rather interesting RSPB post This weekend… watch out for a hunter  so did wonder if the one I’d seen was a youngster.

After a long summer break I’ve started posting again over on Sofa flying.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Augurs of autumn…

  1. Donna says:

    Sadly my dogwalking friend and I discovered a mangled sparrowhawk in the local park, tangled in some bushes. I’ve heard that this can happen as they zoom in for prey and there are usually a lot of sparrows in this particular shrub.
    Thanks for the link about the “out to dinner” birds. I’ve only seen pigeons for the last week or two.

  2. Jo says:

    We get lots of sparrowhawks around here, they’re so bold coming in to gardens to catch their prey.

  3. Mo says:

    We have a sparrowhawk that dines with us regularly. We must be a family favourite because, as far as I can remember we have had a Hawk visiting. Mum used to go out and bang on a saucepan lid with a wooden spoon to warn the birds 🙂
    Haven’t really noticed a decline in birds here, but then we do have hedgerows and lots of windfalls that the blackbirds in particular love.

    • Flighty says:

      Mo lucky you as they are wonderful birds. My mum did the same!
      I’m not surprised as I think it’s urban gardens where their absence has really been noticed. xx

  4. I very rarely see birds of prey around here. On the plus side, the collared doves appear to have two healthy fledglings, and we are being mobbed by sparrows and blue tits eating insects in the plants that cover the fences. Have a great weekend – I am hoping the weather allows me to do some serious weeding up at the plot…

  5. I always see hawks hovering as I drive back into London on the M40 – just a quick glance though as I’m obviously supposed to be concentrating on the road ahead! Just seen a pair of magpies, ravens and lots of wood pigeons in Regents Park today and, of course, we have our usual sparrows and blue tits in the London planes outside my window. I’ll be watching out for the robins now as well! Now popping over to Sofa Flying for a read – happy weekend! Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro they’re more likely to be kestrels, which are a familiar sight near roadsides.
      You’ve seen plenty of birds haven’t you, with more to come!
      Thanks, you too. xx

  6. Glo says:

    I was glad to read your link re lack of birds because I have noticed the same thing here. Lots of them from here have probably flown south ~ at least that’s what I’d do before winter! I haven’t been putting bird seed out lately because they encourage other wildlife (like raccoons!), but I will when it gets cooler. It’s amazing to think that tomorrow is the first day of autumn! Glad to know your robins have returned.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I guess the same applies all over. I’ve been putting less food out but will revert to full rations over the coming weeks.
      Yes it’s gone by far too quickly again hasn’t it. So am I, and just want to see them on the plot now! xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Goodness. I’ve been spending so little time outside, I can’t make any comments about the birds in my neighborhood at all! Glad you are still getting some feathered visitors.

  8. Thanks for that RSPB link. I have seen several sparrowhawks recently both at work and in my own garden and close up too. Sadly haven’t had my camera with me – yet!

    Have a good weekend yourself.

  9. Louise says:

    It’s a strange phenomena when the birds disappear from the garden. I thought it was down to moulting. Thanks for highlighting the article about dining out. My Dad will be very interested to read it too. x

  10. oanh says:

    Despite bringing cold weather with them, robins are too adorable to begrudge!
    I’ve found some new cute birds in Aus but forgot to bring camera … soon… for your delectation and as a teaser, they’re called, “Superb Fairy Wrens” (you’ve probably already heard of them!) and they getting all frisky now that it’s warming up over here!

  11. Flighty says:

    Oanh they are here year round but are much more noticeable during the winter, and I do so agree with you!
    I hadn’t heard of the Superb Fairywren but thanks to this Wikipedia entry, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Superb_Fairywren, I now know all about them and I look forward to seeing your photos of them. xx

Leave a Reply

