Happy times

Thanks to some good weather I spent several, long and busy, mornings plotting last week.

I’ve started on the flower patches mostly removing lots of pot marigold seed heads, to stop them self-seeding all over the plot. I’m collecting seed from various other flowers including cosmos, nasturtiums and sweet peas. They’re all still flowering as are the cornflowers which are nearly all the wonderful blue ones, as seen here, along with some pink ones. I’m wondering what the white variety looks like as I’ve never seen it.

I was surprised to find this courgette, a rather largish one 9″ long, as the last time I looked at the one plant that grew there was no sign of any! There’s another on the way which I shall hopefully pick when it’s still small.

Even better I found that the grapes are starting to ripen and picked a few of the darkest ones to try. They’re only small, little more than pea sized, but surprisingly sweet. There are a handful of bunches like this one and I’m wondering how many I’ll get to eat.

The birds have started to get a lot more noticeable again, especially the crows and magpies. I’m sure that I saw two greenfinches on these sunflowers. I’ve also been hearing the robins but so far not seen them.

I like this time of year and enjoy plotting when the weather allows so I’m looking forward to more happy times over the coming weeks.

Happy gardening!

[Click on any thumbnail to see a larger picture]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Happy times

  1. Sounds like you have got a lot of jobs done Flighty and enjoyed a good dose of fresh air – I will certainly have a lot to be getting on with when we get back from hols – just going off to pack now – speak to you soon.
    Elaine

  2. Mo says:

    I’ve had very pale pink cornflowers, but never white ones.
    I’m very impressed with your grapes, they are something we considered when we got the polytunnel but never got around to buying any. Maybe next year.
    I enjoy Autumn gardening too 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Mo I can’t find just white ones so I’m going for a packet of mixed colours. Grapes are grown inside and outdoors here, and on a good year do really well. Go on try them!
      Good for you! xx

  3. Oanh says:

    Surprise courgette! Wonderful.
    And robins! I miss them but not sure whether to wish yours visit soon or not, augurs of autumn that they are.

    • Flighty says:

      Oanh especially as I wasn’t going to grow any this year!
      I’ve seen the robins here at home and at the trading shed today so that just leaves the plot ones! I’ve really missed them and I’m glad that they’re back even though they herald the onset of autumn! xx

  4. Donna says:

    Your grapes look great, I like the colour of them.
    We saw a robin in the garden last week, hopping into the Forsythia a few days before it was due to be removed! Typical!! Hopefully it will come back soon.
    PS I’ll post your Marshalls catalogue tomorrow.

    • Flighty says:

      Donna Joe who gave me the plant some years back wasn’t sure if they’d be white or black grapes as he grows both, and now we know!
      Your robin will be back soon enough, along with plenty of other birds now your garden has been done.
      Thanks, I’ll let you know when I receive it. xx

  5. Jennyta says:

    Grapes??? You obviously don’t live in north Wales, Flighty! 😉

  6. Nope, no grapes here either! Lovely marigolds thanks to Flighty’s seeds

  7. nikkipolani says:

    So nice that you are still getting good weather days for plotting. Those grapes look very pretty — lovely that they are sweet! My friend’s grapes were all eaten by a pack of raccoons. They left a huge mess of grape skins and seeds — most untidy!

  8. Sounds like a perfect way to spend some time outdoors. I am impressed that you still have sweet peas flowering, you must have been better at picking them regularly than we were! I love your sunflowers.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet it sure is, and I was there again this morning. I picked what looks like the last few today as well as collecting some seed pods. Me too, they’ve been great this year! xx

  9. Jo says:

    It’s nice to have some good weather to get some autumn jobs done on the plot. There’s lots of things I should be doing, but I haven’t got round to starting to clear any of the beds yet. Courgettes certainly have a habit of surprising you when you’re not looking.

  10. wellywoman says:

    The weather here has been really miserable. A lot of rain so everything is damp and soggy but today is sunny and dry so I’m hoping to get up to the allotment this afternoon to do some tidying up.

  11. Carrie says:

    We attacked the lottie last night for the first time since we got home from hols. But 40 mins was all we could manage before we just couldn’t see anymore, I am not a fan of these darker nights. Today I had a plan to go alone and try to get more under control but it is cold and raining and doesn’t look like it’s about to cheer up any time soon 😦 So, a good day to catch up on my fave bloggers. Love you Flighty xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie well done! I don’t think any of us are glad to see darker evenings. It was drizzly and dull here this morning so that’s what I’ve been doing as well.
      Thanks, and hugs! xx

  12. Glo says:

    Glad to see that you are still enjoying your plot ~ the grapes look amazingly delicious!

  13. Louise says:

    I like having the Robin for company when I’m working around the garden. It’s lovely to hear it singing its little heart out first thing in the morning too. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise me too! The allotment ones are around but haven’t ventured onto the plot again whilst I’m there. I’m sure that they will once I start digging! xx

Leave a Reply

