Keep Calm and Pot On…

by Liz Dobbs is a pocket sized (4″ x 5″) hardback book with almost 200 pages of advice for gardeners and witty quotations taken from various sources.

One of the latter that I particularly like is by the author of the Biggles books W. E. Johns   – One of the most delightful things about a garden is the anticipation it provides.

I smiled when I read the page that started – Sunflowers (Helianthus annus) bring out the happy child in everyone… I have to agree wholeheartedly as it certainly does with this child who’s in his 60s.

It was also good to see the gardening charities Gardening Leave and Thrive mentioned as I support both these good causes.

I thought that I’d found an error as the word plastic is part of a quote by William Mason, poet and gardener, 1724-1797. But no I googled the word to find that it has been in use since at least the 1600s, which I have to say surprised me.

As well as the content I like the linen covers and ribbon book marker which gives this book a nice traditional feel and look.

I really enjoyed reading Keep Calm and Pot On, and it’s a book that I’m  happy to recommend. It will be published in November @£4-99, which will make it an ideal Christmas stocking present for any gardening book buff.

My thanks to Quadrille Publishing for sending me a copy to read and review.

[There’s also a Keep Calm and Cook On and, for knitters, Keep Calm and Cast On]

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Keep Calm and Pot On…

  1. Jo says:

    It sounds like an ideal book for me, something which I can dip in and out of as time permits. I like the sound of the other two books too, I’ll have to look out for them.

  2. Donna says:

    Sounds like an ideal gift as you say. As a knitter I’d also like to see the knitting one!
    Anticipation – yes there is certainly oodles of that around here at the moment!!

    • Flighty says:

      Donna it’s a book that I’d be pleased to be given. If you do get the knitting one you’ll have to do a review post on your Knitsamadworld blog!
      I’m sure there was, and I hope that all went well today. xx

  3. Sounds like a goody Flighty – must keep an eye out for it.

  4. I love books like this! Might have to drop some hints about Christmas, I’m actually using Nigel Slaters Tender Vol 1 a lot at the moment, the gardening advice is honest and informal.

  5. You’ve inspired me to look this book up on Amazon and it seems there’s a huge diversity of quotes and wisdom to draw on as well as loads of practical gardening advice which all sounds very good. I can’t bear lots of presents at Christmas (so much unnecessary spending) but, as you so rightly say, this would be a present I’d enjoy opening on Christmas Day! Nice note about the cover, too!

  6. Sounds like the perfect loo book, which is not meant to be an insult! Love the sunflower quote…

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I used to know someone who had a bookshelf full of such books in their downstairs loo! There’s lots of wonderful quotes but this has to be my favourite. xx

  7. Doris says:

    I agree about sunflowers. I saw huge ones at the Montreal Botanical Gardens last weekend and they made me smile. I also couldn’t help to check if their heads were turned towards the sun (they were).
    Interesting note about the word “plastic”. I would never have guessed it was in use so long ago.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Boy, did they send this book to the right person or what? Glad you got to enjoy such a handsome and delightful book.

  9. Glo says:

    “Keep Calm and Pot On” ~ I could have used that for my post on Pot-heads 😉 Good to catch up with you and see what you are up to. Sounds like a great little book. Some quotes seem to sum up a lot in a just few words, which give them more impact and make them quite memorable. I need to practice that 😉

  10. Mo says:

    You got me with linen cover and ribbon bookmark – I like a book that’s nice to handle 🙂 I have recipients in mind but fear that once I got my hands on it, I wouldn’t be able to give it away!

  11. Louise says:

    I certainly like the sound of these little books. I shall check them out, but not for presents but for me! x

Leave a Reply

