This year’s vegetables

Like most people I’ve had successes and failures with the vegetables that I’ve grown, or tried to, this year.  Do remember that I plant or sow nearly all mine direct on the plot and what with the dry, warm and windy spring seed germination tended to be somewhat erratic, or even non-existent.

Thankfully it was probably my best year yet for onions and potatoes, with enough to keep me going well into next year.

The broad beans were brilliant and made up for the fact that the runners weren’t.  However I have finally been picking some, along with borlotti and french climbing ones.

Second sowings of both beetroot and carrots eventually yielded some of each, which is more than can be said for the lettuce. These carrots I grew in a plastic flower bucket and were tasty but rather small,  the biggest here being less than three inches long.

The sweetcorn grew but the cobs that did form didn’t ripen which I put down to the lack of warm summer sunshine.

I’d started picking ripe Gardener’s Delight tomatoes, with plenty more to come, but unfortunately they got blight at the end of the week before last so I had pull them up and burn them.

I’m already thinking about what I’m intending to grow next year, which will probably be much the same, but I shall put a bit more effort into seeing if I can do at least slightly better.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to This year’s vegetables

  1. Damo says:

    Nice selection Flighty, the carrots look good.

  2. You are right most of us have had our failures this year but there have been successes. My resolution for next year is not to get carried away by other people’s enthusiasms but try a few different varieties of the veg I know I like and will use.

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Those carrots are certainly cute! Nice that they were tasty as well. Sorry your pretty tomatoes had an early finish. Now you’ve got a few months ahead planning (and maybe plotting?) for the next crop. My tomatoes are every so slowly ripening but the hail yesterday may have set them back!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I didn’t know the variety so perhaps they were a baby carrot type. It wouldn’t have been so bad if there hadn’t been so many green tomatoes still on the plants!
      Yes there’s still plenty of plotting to be done before the winter, then I’ll be planning.
      Fingers crossed for your tomatoes. xx

  4. Donna says:

    Fantastic colours on those beans. I’d almost grow them just for aesthetic reasons. What were they may I ask?

  5. Jo says:

    Carrots, even when small, are so much tastier than supermarket bought ones. I’ve made a late sowing in a container and they seem to be doing well, and an even later sowing which only germinated a couple of weeks ago. I’m going to see if I can keep them going in the greenhouse once the weather turns cooler. Your Gardener’s Delight look good, what a shame they succumbed to blight. Mine were rubbish earlier in the year and have only just started to produce decent sized tomatoes, the earlier ones were extremely small.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I agree so rarely buy supermarket ones. It’ll be interesting to see how your late ones do.
      Yes the tomatoes that I did have were good but tended to be small than I thought they should be. Lucky you! xx

  6. menhir says:

    I’m interested that you grow from sowing seed. I thought that would be a bit unreliable even in S.E. England-shire. Did you encourage growth in any way, such as using cloches as early weather protection?

    some of my Calendula from last year grown in a deep plastic fish box, surprisingly re-seeded and grew a few plants. They were very slow to grow and they have flowered only in the last couple of weeks; a bit late. The nasturtiums that re-seed themselves, flowered about 2 weeks later than they were expected to, then the plants got blasted at the end of August by stormy weather. The first lot of lettuces were not bad, however, the next two batches I grew have thick leathery leaves. We are batoning down the hatches for another dose of storms this week.

    Your remaining veggies do look very enticing. What happens to the plot now, is it rested till next year?

    xx 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I sow mostly from seed as I can’t do it at home, and don’t have a greenhouse. No I wait and sow later when it’s warmer and there’s less likihood of frosts.
      Good to see that you’re pot marigolds and nasturtiums flowered albeit late and rather briefly. You grew more lettuce than I did.
      I hope that weather there isn’t too bad this week. It’s been unsettled here, wet and windy, but nothing like you get there.
      I’ll be harvesting and plotting for a while yet, but once winter comes both myself and the plot mostly have a rest for a few months. xx

  7. Mo says:

    I’m so pleased that your Broad Beans did you proud 🙂 It’s also great to hear from someone who sows direct. Steve favours direct sowing and has just as much sucess as I do with my trays and pots and paraphenalia 🙂

  8. Glad you are finally getting to pick some beans Flighty – these late triumphs make up for a lot else. I’m only on year one of my “proper” veg growing adventures, but already understand that it is a real mixed bag of triumph and disaster. Your carrots look lovely, and the small ones always taste better, I think. There again, I would say that, we were eating out own baby carrots at dinner last night! Given that we will be trying to sell our house next year, I think I will be finding myself doing much more direct sowing, so I shall be looking to you for your experience there, and comforting myself with the fact that my Grandad grew wonderful veg without the benefit of heated propagators, greenhouse or modules. Or fancy pest netting come to that! Enjoy your potatoes.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I’m relieved, that I’ve ended up with some beans as usually they’re so reliable. I think that as long as the triumphs outnumber the diasters then it’s not a bad year.
      I agree about small carrots, and will be trying to grow them next year.
      A plot neighbour plants and sows direct and always does reasonably well without seemingly doing much apart from watering and weeding when needed. There are lesons to be learned I’m sure! Thanks, I will! xx

  9. Your borlottis look great. Sweetcorn, even in the warmest counties, seems not to have filled reliably this year: we found about a third of our cobs were blind, but as we had about three cobs on each plant this year, we ended up with around the same amount as last year, and the ones that were partly filled I used to make roasted sweetcorn salsa – delicious and thrifty!

    • Flighty says:

      Allotment blooger(!) hello and thanks. I’m sure that it was the poor summer that resulted in most people, but certainly not all, having problems. I like the sound of your salsa! xx

  10. Doris says:

    I had no idea that gardening could be so unpredictable. I love your presentation in the photos. The carrots are so artistically arranged. Now I’m hungry!

  11. Ellie says:

    That sounds like a very good harvest. Despite having a greenhouse, I found germination erratic this year too. And I am not quite sure why, but everyone seems to be having problems with runner beans this year. I rashly ‘boasted’ about finally getting a crop, only for last week’s winds to salt-burn the plants. Still, like you, I always look forward to next year. Shame about your tomatoes, blight was a huge problem on all three of the allotment sites I used to garden on.

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie thanks it’s not been too bad at all really! It’s ceratinly ‘one of those years’ hasn’t it.
      I wouldn’t have minded quite so much had I picked a few more before it hit. xx

  12. I don’t think I’ve even had Borlotti beans before – I think I’m going to give them a go next season – I did have great success with broad beans this year, but the Borlotti’s look more exciting, is the taste much different?

    • Flighty says:

      Matt if you’ve been to Italy then you’ve almost certainly had them!
      They can be used like runner beans, or just the small cream/red beans can be used.
      Some say that these are the best beans but I really wouldn’t know!

  13. Lovely catch up post, Flighty – and being late to the party, I’ve enjoyed reading everyone’s comments as well! I agree with the comments about small carrots; I’ve grown Amsterdam Sprint 2 years running – they’re reliable, tasty and speedy to grow. Some of mine left in the ground now look like ET’s finger but are still super tasty! Shame about your toms, mine are just ripening!!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks, I always think of the comments as the icing on the cake!
      I shall be doing lots of reading up about carrots over the coming months, and pondering which varieties to try.
      Yes it was, and fingers crossed for yours! xx

Leave a Reply

