Babies, houses and the Proms

Sunday evening BBC1 at 6.30pm sees the first of three programmes in a new series Nature’s Miracle Babies. Martin Hughes-Games travels to China to look at the giant panda, which is probably everyones idea of a really cute animal, especially the cubs.

Next Wednesday on BBC2 at 8.00pm is Natural World: Animal House. The article about this in the Radio Times made me smile as it said…It’s another hold-your-breath-I-didn’t-know-that programme with the kind of peerlessly unfussy David Attenborough narration that’s a lesson to every wildlife presenter.

It’s my local horticultural society show on Saturday where I’ll be stewarding.  We usually get all ready the previous evening but we can’t do that this year which means an even earlier start and a longer day. Never mind it’s all worthwhile and most enjoyable. I’ve no doubt that I’ll be tired by the time I do get home but if I manage to stay awake I shall turn the TV on to BBC2 at 9.15pm to watch the BBC Proms – Prom 59 Hooray for Hollywood which celebrates the golden age of film musicals including a special tribute to the RKO films of Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Babies, houses and the Proms

  1. Happy weekend Flighty. For some reason all the coverage of the panda babies has just reminded me of when I was very small (about three I think) and being taken to London Zoo to see Pipaluk, a polar bear cub, and Mum Sabrina. I was bought a special programme by my Aunt and treasured it for years. No idea where it is now…

  2. Donna says:

    Awwww, baby pandas are soooooo cute!!!!

  3. Jo says:

    Aren’t those panda cubs cute? I’ll have to try and catch that programme. Are you entering anything in the show? I’ve never participated in our local show, though I usually go along to support it. It’s our’s this Saturday too, but I’ll miss it this year as it’s my birthday.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo they sure are! I’m not sure yet and will decide tomorrow. Happy birthday for Saturday, which I think is good enough reason for not going to yours. xx

  4. hope all goes well at the show – are you entering anything?

  5. VP says:

    I saw a bit about the Hollywood Prom on Breakfast News yesterday. It looks like it’ll be a lot of fun. Did you know the scores had to be written out again from scratch as the originals were destroyed in the 60s? The guy who did it (who will be conducting the Prom) managed about 4 seconds of music per day because he had a full orchestra, a dance band, the soloists and the chorus to write out the parts for 😮

    • Flighty says:

      VP I enjoyed watching it but must admit that I kept dozing off after my long day at the local horticultural society show.
      I didn’t, and that’s real dedication isn’t it! xx

  6. Mo says:

    I think I shall be recording the Hollywood Proms, somone I know won’t be interested 😉
    Hope the weather stays fair for the Show.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    LOVE the new header, Flighty 🙂 I will be cooking an anniversary dinner for some friends so no TV for me…. Hope you have a lovely weekend with a great day on Saturday and not too tiring!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki now you’re confusing me as I’ve had this header all summer and I’m sure that you’ve commented on it before!
      I hope you enjoy the anniversary dinner, and have a good time as well.
      Thanks it was a terrific day, and a tiring one but at least I slept really well for a change! xx

Leave a Reply

