The occasional series…

that I’m doing on A sort of Plot A to Z continues with the letter F.

I started blogging as Flightbuff doing posts about my lifelong interest in aviation, and it wasn’t long before fellow bloggers started calling me Flighty.  It’s a name that I gladly adopted and, wherever possible, have used it ever since, along with my now familiar picture.

My mother was a passionate gardener who loved growing flowers, and I was her willing, if not always too helpful, assistant as a young child. I live in a flat and always regretted not having a garden.  Taking on the plot has proved to be one of the best things that I could have wished for.  Since doing so I’ve grown lots of flowers, which has bought back plenty of fond, if somewhat now faded, memories.

Since taking on the plot my interest in wildlife has increased immeasurably and I do all I can to encourage and nurture it. I think that of all the various creatures that I’ve seen one of the most memorable was young Frog Newton.

He inspired the fun Frog ponderings posts thanks to Glo (Porcelain Rose),  who has kindly given me this Fun & Facts Award for this post.

Looking back one of the very best aspects of blogging has been all the good friends, long standing to quite recent, that I have become acquainted with.  With some I chat on the phone now and again, email regularly and exchange cards and presents. I really couldn’t want for better friends even though I’ve only ever met a couple of you!

Happy gardening!

[Click on any thumbnail to see a larger image, and post edited August 29 to include Glo’s Fun & Facts Award]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Frog ponderings, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The occasional series…

  1. Mo says:

    Fabulous post 🙂 I really enjoy my visits here and I do like it when you link to older posts.

  2. Feeling frightfully fond of your F post featuring favourite flowers and froggy folk and firm friendships. Fantastic.

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Very nice, Flighty. I can’t beat Elaine for her prolific facility for words 🙂 I must say it’s been really great coming along with you on your plot journey. Hugs.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki many thanks! Nor can I but it sure made me smile. That’s really nice to know, and I couldn’t have asked for lovier company along the way. Hugs! xx

  4. Glo says:

    Felicitations! Lovely to see the revival of Frog Ponderings (thanks for the mention and link)…flowers and friendship go together like fun and frolic…without further ado…

    • Flighty says:

      Glo many thanks! I got completely sidetracked looking back through those posts, which wouldn’t have been possible without you. You’re most welcome, they do indeed and your fantabulous award is much appreciated! xx

  5. Glo says:

    You’re welcome, Flighty 🙂 I tried to send your award in time for your morning cup of tea 😉 and I see you were up to speed adding it to your post. Hope you have a fabulous day.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo finding that first thing got my day off to a fine start.
      I had a good morning plotting and just had lunch – a fish cake with my potatoes, carrots, onions and runner beans followed by a bowl of blackberries and raspberries. I’ll be spending the rest of the day sofa flying! xx

  6. You make lots of blog friends by having a friendly – and occasionally flowery – blog Flighty!

  7. Jo says:

    Allotments are so important for people not only like yourself without a garden, but also those of us with gardens but not enough space to grow enough for a family. It’s not only the gardening aspect, but also the friendships that are made on the site, and as you say, the interest in nature grows along with the veggies.

  8. Doris says:

    What an uplifting, fun post. I love little Frog Newton. : -)

Leave a Reply

