In the pink!

On Sunday Nikki was telling us that she loves all the shapes and shades of pink and showed us no less than twelve of her wonderful pink roses in pinknesses, whilst yesterday the Galloping Gardener was In the pink!

Martin, a one-time Sunday morning helper at the trading shed, has very kindly given me a large pot containing some Nerine bowdenii. I know little about these plants but found this informative blog post Not only pink, part 3: Nerine bowdenii.

It seems that although they are hardy and don’t mind cold dry winters they don’t like wet ones. I’m going to keep mine in the pot for the time being so that I can move it into Joe’s greenhouse if need be.  You’ll note that it has plenty of leaves, which appear after flowering, so it looks like I’ll have to wait until next autumn to see it in the pink!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to In the pink!

  1. Mo says:

    Thanks for the pink links, great viewing on a wet Yorkshire morning 🙂

  2. Vanessa says:

    Mine look exactly the same at the moment!
    And they flowered best when they were in their pot on the patio in full sun getting their roots baked!!

  3. Louise says:

    Reminds me to go check on mine. It’s in a pot! I’ve a feeling it may well have succumbed to our cold and wet winter?

  4. I have never grown Nerines, I looked them up and they are beautiful.You are supposed to water until the leaves die down then dry them off. From what I have read they are only half hardy so putting them in the greenhouse sounds like a good idea. I shall be buying my bulbs for the spring soon so I think I will add Nerines to the list. Have a good weekend.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    I really like the look of Nerines — would probably do well here with our dry-ish winters. And what a nice range of pink! Hope yours does well. And thanks for the mention 🙂 I actually restrained myself from posting another five or eight pinks in bloom.

  6. menhir says:

    Lovely healthy leaves on the plant Mr F. xx

  7. Carrie says:

    I love pink – I can’t help myself. Big fat pink roses from the palest to the most gloriously uncompromising deep pink were my wedding flowers 🙂

  8. Jo says:

    Nerines give such pretty flowers. I hope you manage to overwinter them ok, they’re looking very healthy at the moment so that should set them in good stead.

  9. Damo says:

    I have a lovely soft pink rambling rose by the front door and two young daughters so inside the house everything is very pink indeed!!

Leave a Reply

