Autumnal August

I know that I’m not the only one who has recently noticed that some mornings have felt rather autumnal.

There haven’t been been enough sunny days either but thankfully there’s still lots of colour to be seen with cornflowers, crocosmia, nasturtiums, pot marigolds and sunflowers.

There’s also some cosmos, which is one of my favourite flowers especially the pure white variety Purity.

The rose Pretty Lady has been flowering continuously for nearly three months and is still in full bloom.

The dog rose flowered early and didn’t last long but is now covered in red hips that the birds will enjoy later on.

Sadly the rose Valentine Heart hasn’t fared well again as it has suffered from blackspot causing it’s leaves to drop, and there have only been few blooms. I’m undecided if I should dig it up or give one more year.

I’m unsure what variety this dark sunflower is as it’s rather different to the others.

Happy gardening!

[Click on either of the thumbnail images to see a larger picture]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Autumnal August

  1. Mo says:

    Gorgeous flowers – I love the red sunflower 🙂
    It has been a bit nippy hasn’t it? We even had a ‘misty morning’ last week and I notice that the Hawthorn and Elder berries are out.

    • Flighty says:

      Mo thanks, me too and I’ve another one that I think is even better!
      It sure has. We did too on Friday morning, and seeing those is another indication of an early autumn! xx

  2. That red sunflower is wonderful, Flighty. I am a huge fan of ‘Purity’ too, though mine still hasn’t bloomed – brings home how cool and exposed the allotment site is. And what a lousy summer it is turning in to.

  3. Hello Flighty!, really lovely contrast between the white Cosmos and red Sunflower. I’d also like to know the variety of the red sunflower; your photo is absolutely beautiful with the central seeds almost purple. Definitely one to grow next year. I love that you’re finding lots of colour on the plot and your words have motivated me to go and look for colour around the York Rise gardens. My sunflowers have shot up in the past 2 weeks, must also be 10 ft tall, nearly double my height!! Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks! I sowed the variety ‘Earthwalker’ but it is very different to the others. I’ll try to remember to save some seed, and will let you know if I do.
      I hope that you’ll find some colour there! I’ve got one that’s probably reached ten feet as I can’t reach up to touch the flower and I’m a six footer. xx

  4. That sunflower colour is gooooooooooooooorgeous. Enjoy the rest of the weekend

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Love that mahogany sunflower! How well your Pretty Lady rose has done this year. Your cosmos is inspiring — maybe I’ll set out some seed for some fall blooms.

  6. Jo says:

    The red sunflower is certainly different. I grew Purity cosmos last year, I don’t think you can beat the white variety.

  7. it even smells autumnal 😦

  8. Glo says:

    Your gorgeous red sunflower has a resemblance to underwater creatures in a tidepool. I mean that in a most complimentary way…

    Although we only have 14 hours of light and 10 hours of dark now, I am still hoping for a lot more sunshiny days. Summer took so long to get here, autumn can wait…we have had our first day of rain since July, before I oiled the deck!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I see what you mean, so thanks for the compliment.
      Sunshiny days have been lacking here so it would be good to have more as well. Goodness that’s a long time since it rained, it’s sure not been like here! xx

  9. Louise says:

    Love that sunflower! Yes, some mornings have felt quite Autumnal, and the evenings are slowly drawing in too (sigh). Knowing me I’d get rid of the rose, as blackspot is one of my major pet hates. Cosmos gives great colour to the garden at this time of year – I sowed a mixed variety, one plant is white! x

    • Flighty says:

      Loiuse me too! Yes I know (also sighing). I think that’s what I’m going to do. I’ve grown three varieties of Cosmos but it’s this one I like best! xx

Leave a Reply

