Mostly big or small

All the sunflowers Giant Single are now in bloom. I recently wrote about the biggest one over on UK Veg Gardeners and which, as you can see, is rather impressive!  However it’s not the tallest which is this one heading towards ten feet high.

On Monday morning I saw what I’m fairly sure was a juvenile Greenfinch on one of the sunflowers Pastiche, which was a pleasing first sight.

Incidentally I recently learnt that most sunflowers don’t follow the sun but stay facing east. That’s certainly true of mine!

It’s been easy digging up the red maincrop potatoes Desiree, especially when they’re this size. It’s the biggest one so far but there have plenty of others almost as big.

At the other end of the scale is my first tomato Gardener’s Delight which was little more than marble sized, but perfectly formed and which tasted delicious. Thankfully there are more ripening which are somewhat bigger.

I must apologise for not previously mentioning yesterday evening’s TV documentary Natural World – Heligan: Secrets of the Lost Gardens. I’m sure that it will be repeated again in the not too distant future, and be available to watch on iPlayer.  It was, not surprisingly, a really enjoyable programme.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Mostly big or small

  1. Louise says:

    My cherry tomatoes are slowly ripening, enough to throw a handful into my omelette the other evening, and to munch on a few here and there. I didn’t have time to watch all the Heligan programme last night, but will hopefully catch up with it on iPlayer. x

  2. Mo says:

    That’s an interesting point about Sunflowers, I’ve always thought they move but have never really watched them to see 🙂 A very ‘desirable’ potato! I’m almost sick of the sight of Tomatoes and have been making sauces, purees as passata 🙂 Tomato Soup on the Menu this evening.

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Fun post, Flighty! At least your tomatoes are ripening…. mine are still quite green. I had one almost ready to pick and then it disappeared. I think Mo ought to email me some of those extra tomatoes….

  4. Well that explains a lot! I planted my sunflowers down one side of my plot assuming they would turn to face the sun and so I would always have them facing me when I was working there. They remain stubbornly facing out over next door’s plot, who are enjoying them immensely. Facing east. Now I know… Does anything quite beat those freshly picked tomatoes and the promise of many more to come?

    • Flighty says:

      Janet it sure does, and next year you’ll know where to grow them so that you get to enjoy them! I agree about the tomatoes, and I hope that you’re right about there being many more to come! xx

  5. Karen says:

    Hi Flighty, I’m very envious of your sunflower but pleased that yours is so beautiful. As you know mine were a bit of a let down this year, any that self seed get munched by slugs before they get going so I always sow them fresh each year.

    I’m also digging up Desiree at the allotment, really impressed with mine seeing as they’re my first ever allotment potato crop and the ground was bone dry when planting. Yours look amazing!
    Have a great weekend, mine shall be spent at my allotment…….I seem to live there these days!

    • Flighty says:

      Karen hello! My sunflowers have done well again this year, and let’s hope that we both do well next year.
      Well done, I think that Desiree are an excellent main crop potato. Thanks!
      You too, that’s a good idea I reckon, and can’t think of a better place to be. xx

  6. Jo says:

    I always thought that sunflowers followed the sun. A few years ago, I planted sunflowers all the way down my fence, and every one of them poked their faces over the fence in to next door’s garden. I didn’t get to enjoy a single bloom, but my neighbours enjoyed those blooms all summer long, now I know why. I hope the greenfinches return, it’s always lovely to spy a new bird around. The Desiree are a good size. I’ve found my first earlies, Arran Pilot, to be a large size this year. My maincrop went in a little late, but don’t seem to be putting on much top growth. We’ll have to wait and see what’s under the ground when I dig them up. My Gardener’s Delight are a bit of a let down this year. They’re very leggy and not producing many tomatoes. Those which they are producing are very small. A bit of a disappointment really.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it seems that we all did. I think that the variety seen growing commercially in France does, but most others appear not to!
      I hope that I see more greenfinches, I guess that they’re probably around when I’m not.
      I’m probably going to grow Arran Pilot next year. I think that a lot of people, with a few exceptions like Mo, haven’t done too well with tomatoes. xx

  7. Doris says:

    I have delayed posting a comment because I am trying to find a lovely, short poem my mother quoted about sunflowers that I wanted to share. It may be some time before I find it but I know I have it. Anyway, sunflowers are certainly impressive!!

  8. Enjoyed this post – mainly for the little nuggets of information. Have a good weekend!

  9. Flighty says:

    Elaine thanks, I’m always happy to pass them on like this! You too. xx

  10. A late comment from me just to say thanks for the heads up on the Heligan gardens documentary. I don’t watch tv regularly enough to notice these things but will definitely watch it on ‘catch up’ one evening soon. Love the sunflower tips – excellent! C xx

Leave a Reply

