Letters, sweet peas and a feather

During the past week Greg Becker started an Allotment Alphabet over on his plot 52 illustrated blog with A is for Apathy! They’re brilliant drawings and well worth a look.

Seeing them reminded me I’m doing an occasional series of posts on a sort of Plot A to Z the last of which, The letter E…, I did back at Easter. I’m not doing the letter F today but hope to do it later in the month.

Thinking about what to write today I thought that I mention gladioli, and include a couple of pictures, but on second thoughts I’ll save those for the letter G!

So instead here are some colourful, and fragrant, sweet peas.

One find during last week was what I’m pretty sure is a Goldfinch wing feather. It’s only a couple of inches long and I spotted it on the grass verge thanks to the flash of yellow. I wish that I saw these lovely little birds more often than I do.

Next week there’ll be a special post on Wednesday,Β  as well as my usual Thursday one.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Letters, sweet peas and a feather

  1. daffy says:

    That feather is little isn’t it! Oh the sweetpeas are lovely! I can almost smell them!
    Hope you have a lovely Sunday! I can see sunshine out of my window which is a nice change after yesterdays downpour! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy it sure is, and makes a change to pigeon feathers! I’ve had a vase, an unused coffee mug, full of sweetpeas on the window sill every day for some weeks now.
      Thanks, it’s been mostly sunny with a few showers late afternoon. xx

  2. Mo says:

    Lovely Sweetpeas πŸ™‚ I like Plot52 as well – C for … is funny πŸ™‚

  3. Beautiful sweet pea flower, I love the detailed veining, much lovelier than the plain flat pink I have. Drat…

  4. Beautifully coloured sweet pea – how can you not fail to love them. We have a family of Goldfinches that come to the feeders every day, their food of choice – sunflower seeds.

  5. The simple serenity of a sweet pea. I can almost smell it from here πŸ™‚

  6. I’m pretty sure it is a goldfinch feather – we have a few of them here sometimes they come down to the feeder

  7. Mrs Bok says:

    That feather is beautiful. I love the fragrance of sweet peas!

  8. nikkipolani says:

    How sweet does that little feather look! When someone thought the birds in my garden were finches, my friend thought they were much too big. And I must agree seeing your cute little feather. Very pretty sweet pea, too, Flighty. Hope you have enough to take a bunch home to bring the lovely scent home.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it’s really small for an adult bird’s feather. Thanks, and yes I’m bringing enough home to fill two coffee mugs that I’m using as vases. xx

  9. Lovely sweet peas! One of my favorite flowers and fragrances. Very sweet feather, too…I found an orange and brown one outside which belonged to a Northern Flicker. I enjoyed looking at the humorous drawings of Plot 52 πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, I think that they’re a lot of peoples favourite. Lucky you, I guess that it’s find a fancy feather time! Me too, I think that they’re brilliant. xx

  10. greg becker says:

    Hello Flighty, thank you very much for the mention, did not realise it was so prominent! Like the goldfinch? feather, that could turn into a competition?
    P.S. sorry for referring to you as ‘good old flighty’ in one of my blog replies, (hopefully you did not notice) it was one of those moments when you click send and then seconds later think . . . . ! (damn) why did I say that.

    • Flighty says:

      Greg you’re most welcome! I’ve been called all sorts so being called that is oaky with me! We all do that when we make comments, it’s so annoying!

  11. Louise says:

    I’ve finally today been able to pick a small bunch of flowers from my sweet peas. They are very, very slow this year! I love the illustrations on Plot 52, and pleased you highlighted it. The first gladioli bulbs I planted in pots this year, are just starting to come into flower, a very dark purple. For the first time ever recently, I saw a Goldfinch taking seeds from the Centaurea montana in my garden. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise now that they’ve started flowering I’m sure that you’ll get lots! Yes I do too so it was well worth a mention.
      My gladioli have been flowering, and I’ve been taking photos, but not mentioned are shown them here yet.
      Lucky you, seeing them do that is wonderful isn’t it! xx

  12. Doris says:

    I think our (American) Goldfinches are beautiful but yours are spectacular! Maybe one day I will get to see one…

Leave a Reply

