Onions and surprises

The onion foliage has gone over and begun to die back so I started lifting them yesterday. The one at the bottom left is bigger than a tennis ball. I have been lifting and using the really small ones in recent weeks but these I shall dry, tidy up then store to use over the winter.

I was slightly disappointed with my rhubarb earlier in the year as the stems were a bit thin and it died back rather quickly. However I was surprised to see that it’s grown again with half a dozen good sized thick stems. I’ve resisted pulling any of them and will leave them to die back before removing them then covering it with plenty of compost or manure for the winter.

I was also surprised not to get any strawberries but I may get some now! All the plants were looking very frazzled a month or so back but it’s a different story now with some fruit, plenty of leaves and runners as well.

The few runner beans that eventually germinated have finally started climbing the canes and have produced flowers so hopefully I should get to taste some of my own after all.

Plot surprises like these are most welcome, and there was one more as I thought that all my raspberries had finished fruiting some weeks ago but one plant is obviously a different variety as I’ve picked a couple of handfuls this week.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any thumbnail picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Onions and surprises

  1. What a lovely optimistic post, Flighty! Is it usual to have rhubarb growing again at this time of year and can you eat it still? It’s such a big plant, I haven’t had room for it but would like to bear it in mind for the future. I should have lifted my onions yesterday as I knew it would rain today but didn’t have time; they’ll now have to wait but I see from last year’s posts that I had onions drying by July in 2010! I hope they don’t rot, that would be a waste. Have a good weekend, Caro x

  2. Flighty says:

    Caro well us gardeners always have to be optimistic don’t we!
    I’m not sure but as you see it has this year. You can eat it, although it’s not as nice now, so not recommended. It’s worth growing if you like it, and it can be keep in bounds so to speak.
    I only lifted these few onions just to see what they’re like and have lots more to harvest! I’m sure that they won’t rot, as the ground needs to be constantly wet for that to happen.
    Thanks, you too! xx

  3. Mo says:

    Our Rhubarb continues to grow throughout the summer. I’ve just recently cut it all back.
    We also get two crops from our Raspberries; early and late.
    It’s great to see what you’re harvesting though, and the surprises Mother Nature is throwing at you.
    Both our Onions and Shallots have been disappointing this year but yours are looking good.
    Enjoy your weekend πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Mo I guess that it depends on the variety.
      I started with three each three different varieties of raspberries and now have over twenty plants nearly all of which fruit around the same time!
      I have to say that I’m doing better than I thought I would earlier in the year.
      That’s a shame, I generally do well with onions and this year looks to be no exception.
      Thanks, you too! xx

  4. Lovely onions Flighty, and glad to see beans and strawbs finally playing ball. My rhubarb did something similar, am hoping for a good early harvest next year in recompense for resisting the urge to pull stems this year. My big (pleasant) surprise was the purple salad onions. I sowed a few early on, but when I planted them out they wilted and I was sure they would never come to anything. Consequently I didn’t bother to sow any more. How wrong I was – they are beautiful AND delicious, so next year I must try for more…

    • Flighty says:

      Janet thanks! I’m not that fussed about the strawberries but would be a bit miffed if I don’t grow any runners. I’m sure that our rhubarb will do us proud next year!
      Lucky you I sowed a couple of lots of spring onions which mostly didn’t germinate. As you say next year….! xx

  5. Donna says:

    That’s all looking fab, huge onions! Do you grow everything in the ground or do you have anything in containers?

  6. Flighty says:

    Donna thanks! They’re not too big as I prefer them no bigger than tennis ball sized. I plant and sow almost everything direct in the ground. I have two planters, one long and the other square for flowers, and I am trying to grow carrots in a flower bucket. All three will get mentioned in a forthcoming post! xx

  7. Martin B says:

    Glad the rhubarb has recovered. Ours produced a lot of spindley stems which went limp and died back quickly, but we’re regularly picking nice sized stems now!

    All of your produce looks great!

    Martin

  8. At least you are having some successes even if they are late, nothing is predictable with gardening is it. Have a good weekend.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Hey! Look at all that’s going on in your garden! And what a nice surprise to get a crop of raspberries now. How many strawberry plants do you put out each year?

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I know! There are summer and autumn fruiting varieties of raspberries and I thought that I had some of each, but I think that the topsy-turvy weather confuses them.
      I have about twelve strawberry plants, having started with six. They are perennials so grow back each year, and runners provide new plants. xx

      • nikkipolani says:

        That’s great. I guess I didn’t know that about strawberries. Hope you have a great crop this year. BTW, the peachy flower you asked about is a gerbera. Each year, I’m pleasantly surprised when it comes back. I’ve never had them survive before πŸ˜‰

        • Flighty says:

          Nikki I won’t get many strawberries this year but fingers crossed for next year!
          Thanks, it’s a real beauty isn’t it. Sadly it’s a conservatory/greenhouse plant here so I couldn’t grow it on the plot. xx

  10. Doris says:

    Everything looks delicious. : -)

  11. Carrie says:

    Don’t you just love surprises. It’s all looking well at your place xxx

  12. Damo says:

    You’ve got a good crop of onions Flighty and some late fruit as well, can’t be bad!

    • Flighty says:

      Damo thanks, I’m well pleased with them, I’ve lifted 30, with about another 50 to come, and I reckon that they’re the best that I’ve grown! Not bad at all!

Leave a Reply

