A sunshine plot

This is the post I was going to do on Sunday. My thanks to everyone who commented on the one I did do, Quagga’s Rear View, and the previous Sunday’s A pleasure no more.

I had a much better week as I was on the plot several mornings, the sun  shined a few times, I got a glimpse of the blue tits out front at home for the first time in ages and saw a few Speckled Wood butterflies.

Even when the sun hasn’t been shining it’s a sunshine plot thanks to the glorious sunflowers.  This is the first Giant Single to flower, which is about nine feet tall with a flower the size of a large dinner plate.

There are two multi-headed varieties the red and yellow Pastiche and the rich reddish brown Earthwalker. Both of these are about five feet tall.The insect you can see on this one is a green lacewing.

Down at ground level there are red and yellow nasturtiums.

Plot neighbour Joe asked me how my grape vine was doing and when he looked reckoned that it’s doing better than his. That was surprising as I do nothing with mine whereas he’s an expert grower!

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A sunshine plot

  1. Glorious sunflowers, I’m still waiting for mine! Glad you have had time at the plot.

  2. Jennyta says:

    Ah but you have those magic green fingers, Flighty! 😉

  3. Maggie says:

    Oooo, speckled wood! Saw one of those fluttering across our patio last week. 🙂 Have to say I’m a little worried by lack of butterflies here at the caravan. OK, it was very dull yesterday and then rained early this morning, but we’ve 2 buddleia bushes in full flower and we’ve got intermittent sunshine now, but not a single butterfly in sight! Usually covered in bees too, not seen many of them either. I’m wondering if somebody has been spraying something nasty near.

    • Flighty says:

      Maggie hello and welcome! That’s sad not seeing many of either. I do hope that somebody hasn’t been spraying! Fingers crossed that you see more on sunny days. xx

      • Maggie says:

        As the morning warmed up more butterflies did appear – peacock, red admiral and small tortoiseshell and I think a skipper. Though not as many as we’ve seen past years. Definitely seemed to be fewer bumblies too. Perhaps more will emerge if we get a good hot day, bit grey and breezy this morning!

  4. Glad you are feeling a bit happier Flighty, you did sound a bit down in the dumps. your sunflowers are lovely, no wonder they have cheered you up. Have you noticed loads of hoverflies this year.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine thanks! It’s not like me to be down but there’s been too many grey days and not enough plotting! Yes there are lots of hoverflies around. xx

  5. Doris says:

    Great photos! So cheerful and bright. And thanks for identifying the lovely green insect too!

  6. Mo says:

    Pleased to hear you’ve had a good week and have been able to spend time with those glorious sunflowers 🙂

  7. Donna says:

    I love that big orangey red one.

  8. Glo says:

    Your blog is radiating with warmth and colour, Flighty, from the header to the footer! I hope the Canuck boys are holding up a stalk or two as they usually just hang about daydreaming 😉 Sorry I haven’t been commenting much … it was so rainy here during much of July that I got fed up with the whole business of everything… however escaping for a few days to find the sunshine helped.

    • nikkipolani says:

      Ah, so that’s where you are, Glo. I’ve missed your cheery voice.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks! It’s raining this morning so I guess that the boys are sheltering under a large sunflower leaf. I’ll have a look next time I’m there and see if they are!
      That’s okay, I don’t blame you feeling like that as there’s been far too many grey days here so I’ve been a bit moochy as well. Good to see that you found some sun where you went. xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Oh what wonderful fantastic shots, Flighty! Looking like the sunshine is back — in your plot and in your day 🙂 The sunflowers are spectacular. So glad you grow them every year.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, I do try to show the best ones here! It was but it’s raining today, however the forecast is looking better. I think that sunflowers are a must grow flower for the plot! xx

Leave a Reply

