Quagga’s Rear View…

was a wonderful blog, with  a truly memorable title, written between 2003 and 2007 by Judy, a lovely South African. She was one of my first, and indeed one of my best,  blog friends and I often wondered how she was.

Sadly yesterday I was informed by Mark, one of her old friends, that she had recently passed away from breast cancer.  He had been rereading her blog posts where he’d come across my name and thought that she and I had known each other well so contacted me with this tragic news.

She was only in her late 40’s and it would have been her birthday today.

Judy was a friend who I never met but I will remember her with a great deal of affection.In her memory I am making a donation to Cancer Research UK to help beat breast cancer which is an insidious disease that kills too many women, many far too young, leaving behind heartbroken family and friends.

[I never did know how to pronounce it properly but thanks to Wikipedia I do know what a Quagga was!]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in A good cause, Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Quagga’s Rear View…

  1. Jennyta says:

    What sad news, Flighty. It’s lovely how blog friends sometimes become an important part of our life, just like ‘face to face’ friends.

  2. Flighty I’m so sorry to hear of your sad news. Late 40s is no age these days so it seems tragic that cancer cut short her life. I didn’t know her blog but through it she’s left a record of a small period of her life and a means for her friends to get in touch with each other. We do meet some lovely friends through blogging and your tribute to her is very touching. Hope your day goes well, Caro xx

  3. I agree entirely with the above two responses, it is good that blogging on subjects dear to our hearts bring us closer to people – strangers who become friends.

  4. alison says:

    sorry to hear a sad departing of a friend. love to all. xx alison

  5. So young to lose her life like that. I’m sorry you have lost a friend Flighty. I’m sure she would be chuffed to bits to read your tribute though.

  6. deyank says:

    Very sorry to hear the news, Flighty. I, too, have had blog friends pass away and I agree that it can be as devastating as a friend you’ve met physically. I love the picture.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    What a lovely tribute to a friend, Flighty. It’s hard to know what happened to bloggers when they stop blogging.

  8. Doris says:

    Sorry to hear of this news. Blogging friends are friends indeed.

  9. (X) That is sad indeed.

  10. Hi, Flighty. Hadn’t realised you’d migrated here. I did sometimes wonder myself how Quags was getting on. I missed her as a blogger and I was sad to read Mark’s email. Hope you’re okay.

  11. Flighty says:

    Rob hello, it’s good of you to stop by and comment!
    Yes I’ve had this blog for over four years now. She was an unforgettable, and much missed, blogger that’s for sure.
    Thanks I’m fine and enjoying virtual retirement spending much of my time on the allotment, and blogging about it.

  12. Mo says:

    Sorry for your loss x

  13. Louise says:

    Thank you for your donation to Cancer Research UK Flighty. You most probably know by now that breast cancer has affected me and my family. I’m in my late forties, so am very saddened to hear of such an untimely death. x

Leave a Reply

