One butterfly and two blogs

By the horticultural trading shed is a chain-link fence that is partly covered with ivy that attracts plenty of wildlife including butterflies. On Sunday I watched several fluttering around and was finally rewarded when a large white settled long enough for me to take this photo.

The Big Butterfly Count was due to finish this weekend but has been extended until Sunday 7th August. There’s no excuse for any of us not to do it, or to even do it again.    BBC – Nature UK: In pictures: UK butterflies (part one) is a great help in aiding identification with terrific photos [Note that parts 2 and  3 are linked from the webpage].

Another blog round-up is long overdue and as a start here are two  gardening blogs by members, and friends, on UK Veg Gardeners which is almost a year old and now has a membership of nearly 750.

Caro’s An Urban Veg Patch has been going a couple of years and is all about growing vegetables in a north London community of 1930s flats.  I read her posts with particular interest as I also live in a 1930s flat in London but where the back garden is just grass and I often wonder just what could be done with it.

In complete contrast is Elaine’s Ramblings from Rosebank which as she writes is an insight into the day to day working of a contemporary cottage garden in rural Leicestershire. She’s only been blogging a few months but you’d never guess it from her delightful daily posts. Her garden is just how I imagine mine would be if I had one!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn loungers, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to One butterfly and two blogs

  1. I’m thrilled that you’ve mentioned my blog (thank you!) but it’s so lovely to be regarded as a friend – that’s really got my day off to a good start! The feeling is reciprocated! As you know, I also read Elaine’s daily posts, both on her blog and over at UKVG, and like to think that if I had my own garden, I would take inspiration from Elaine. Have a wonderful day! Caro xx

  2. Jo says:

    I saw lots of butterflies in spring, but I’m hardly seeing any around at the moment, apart from a Cabbage White which was trying it’s best to find a way through the netting and in to my brassica cage at the weekend. I enjoy reading Caro’s posts too, it shows what can be done when the community pull together, she has lots of success with her veggies and puts them to very good use in her cooking.

  3. Hiya Flighty,
    There seems to be quite a few butterflies around in the garden this year. Makes a pleasant change as they seem to be getting less and less in the last few years. (maybe it is just because i have more flowers in the garden this year?)
    Hope all is well.

    Simon.

  4. Thank you Flighty, you are a sweetie. I really appreciate the fact that you always leave a comment on my blogs, it makes my day. That goes for Caro too. Doing a daily blog, as I do, can be hard work trying to find something original to say every day, but it is worth it knowing that somebody out there is taking an interest.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine you’re most welcome, and many thanks for your kind words!
      Well done on doing a post daily as the best I’ve ever done was every day for a month, and that was a bit of an effort. The really important thing is not how often you post but that you enjoy doing it. xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    I didn’t know ivy was such a draw for butterflies! Your shot is a terrific one.

  6. Carrie says:

    So few white butterflies around here this year I’ve seen 2 in about as many weeks! Hugs, have a great weekend xx

  7. Mo says:

    Beautiful photo! 🙂 We’re seeing very few butterflies at the moment. Mo

  8. Butterflies? Hah! I’ll be lucky… Large white. One. Singular. Even I can count that. Enjoy your weekend!

  9. Louise says:

    I’m noticing the Large Whites are liking my Nasturtiums!

Leave a Reply

