Plenty to smile about

Yesterday morning I’d only been on the plot for about ten minutes and had seen a fox with a white tipped tail that I didn’t recognise, several noisy parakeets and a grey heron.

I was going to lift some more salad potatoes Charlotte but noticed that a few of the second early Kestrels were just showing on the surface so lifted those instead, which included several like this.

I remembered to take a container for the blackberries and picked these. They’re big, juicy and sweet.Β  I eat them with some crumbled digestives or shortbread, a dollop of vanilla ice cream and a sprinkling of demerara sugar.

It was dull and overcast again but the plot flowers provide lots of colour especially the sunny pot marigolds andΒ  warm sunflowers.

So there’s been plenty to smile about.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Plenty to smile about

  1. Jennyta says:

    We got our fresh veg c/o Elder Daughter at the weekend – onions, beetroot, peas and some lovely lettuce, so we got the benefit from her hard work. πŸ™‚

  2. Jo says:

    There certainly is plenty to smile about there. Your potatoes are doing well. I’ve missed out on second earlies this year, growing first earlies in containers and maincrop at the allotment. The sunflowers are looking good too, you always do well with them.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo there sure is! I’m a bit surprised at how good the potatoes are. I’m pleased with the sunflowers but I sowed lots of seed and have looked after them this year. Thanks! xx

  3. I’ve been looking forward to this post since reading your comment yesterday! I agree, much to smile about, particularly with the company that you had and your delicious pudding! I also saw a fox yesterday – very small and I thought it was too late for cubs, but there he was, marching along the street at dusk. Making me smile at the moment is the Bee Bush – an massive (10ft tall!) pink Hebe next to the veg patch that sounds like a thriving beehive when the sun shines as there are so many bees working on the blossom!

  4. Plenty to smile about indeed! Parakeets?! We get pigeons, rooks and sparrows… Love your sunflowers, mine are way behind.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet especially on a dull day! Yes ring-necked parakeets are common hereabouts and although good to see can be a bit of a nuisance. Thanks, I’m sure yours will catch up! xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Big smile here, too! Great stuff on the plot, Flighty. Those sunflowers are gorgeous.

  6. Mo says:

    Remind me where you live? Foxes, parakeets and a heron? πŸ˜‰
    Your sunflowers are divine! Still waiting on mine and I think they’ll be tiddlers 😦

  7. Are your sunflowers short or are you very tall, to be able to get a shot directly at the face of the sunflower. I live deep in the countryside and very rarely see a fox. Have a good weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I’m just over six feet, but these sunflowers are about five feet high. Others have said the same and us city folk do seem to see them far more often.
      Thanks, you too! xx

  8. Louise says:

    An allotment is the perfect place for growing sunflowers, yours are lovely Flighty. I really love the idea of crumbled shortbread with ice-cream and soft fruit, and shall definitely be trying it! I’m not a fan of blackberries, although I have to say yours look amazing. Those Kestrels look large enough to use as jackets? No parakeets as far down South as us, but I did see and hear plenty in my Uncle’s garden up in Epsom. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise it is but mine is rather exposed so they do all have to be securely staked and tied.
      There’s plenty of variations to try! The Kestrels are more big enough to use like that.
      I saw a small flock of them yesterday so they seem to be getting more common here. xx

Leave a Reply

