The right idea

I spent three mornings plotting during the week when I lifted the first of the Charlotte salad potatoes which looked, and tasted, really good. I’m still picking lots of broad beans and tried the first of the blackberries which, although they weren’t sharp, really needed just a few days.

I picked some sweet peas, mostly Kings High Scent along with a few Spenser Choice Mix Colours. They’re in a coffee mug which I’m using as a vase.

I deadheaded the pot marigolds, which took a while, and collected some seed from the collomia graniflora. The crocosmia will be starting to flower next week and the first of the gladioli won’t be long either.

As you can see Nikki’s cat Em has the right idea as she’s not only a lawn lounger but a book buff as well!

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The right idea

  1. My sweet peas are a way off flowering yet, but I hope they will give a blast of colour and scent well into September

  2. A good week on the plot, Flighty! I’m also enjoying seeing my sweet peas flowering, although I haven’t picked any yet, just pausing for a good sniff of the perfume. I’ve just written about my Monarda which flowered this week, a truly beautiful plant and, if it stays dry this morning, I’ll dig up a few spuds for lunch whilst tackling the weeds! Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro yes thankfully! Don’t leave them unpicked for too long. Monarda is yet another plant on my list! I hope you got to dig some potatoes up for lunch. xx

  3. Damo says:

    Whilst I’m not a fan of the rain I am enjoying the break from watering this week. I bet your Charlottes taste great, we love ours and always grown them. Off to our Hampshire D.A. (NVS) Chairman’s garden this afternoon for a look round, I’m expecting to see lots of quality veg and 100s of Dahlias which I’m looking forward to.

    • Flighty says:

      Damo I have to say that I’ve always liked Charlottes but I’m really impressed with them this year.
      I hope that you enjoyed your afternoon, and that it wasn’t too wet!

  4. Jo says:

    Em certainly does have the right idea, such a cute photo. I’m regretting forgetting to sow any sweet peas this year now that I’m seeing everyone with vases full. I can only imagine that wonderful scent. I’ve tried Charlotte’s before, they’re one of the nicest tasting I’ve grown and they were good in the year that lots of slugs attacked my potato crop, Charlottes didn’t seem to suffer much damage.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo she sure does! Never mind grow plenty next year to make up for it.
      As you say Charlottes don’t seem to suffer much damage at all. I shall certainly be growing them again next year. xx

  5. alison says:

    oh, em is gorgeous! so are the other 2 kitties!
    happy gardening! xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    So nice to see your sweetpeas doing well — such a lovely combination of colours, too! I’d love to see your blackberry bush. And looking forward to seeing how your crocosmias will do. Mine took a leave of absence this year.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki they’ve done better than I thought that they would! I’ll try to take a photo of it.
      The crocosmias look like having a good year. Oh dear! xx

  7. Sweet peas – one of my favourites – unfortunately mine are nearly over as they started flowering really early.

  8. Mo says:

    Isn’t it great to be harvesting? I’m picking Sweet Peas like mad too, to encourage more flowers, and like you I’ve had to resort to more ‘unusual vases’ 🙂
    Love the photo, envy the cat.

    • Flighty says:

      Mo it sure is! Picking them is top of my plot list at the moment.
      Me too on both counts, and she’s a well practised sofa flyer as well! xx

  9. I like Charlottes too, even if the wretched blight did curtail the crop. I envy you the broad beans, mine are over now, have left notes for myself to make sure I grow more – and stagger the sowing – next year. Love the sweet peas in the mug!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I’m sorry to see that your potatoes have been affected by blight. I can’t believe just how many broad beans I’ve picked.
      Thanks, they’re the one flower that I cut and bring home! xx

  10. menhir says:

    The cat has the right idea. 🙂

    I didn’t bother to visit the vegetable garden planted for ‘The Festival Of Britain’ on the roof of The Festival hall. By the time I had seen some dull beach huts placed along the South Bank of the London Embankment, a misplaced temporary beach for a few kids to play with buckets and spades as if at playgroup; then it was suggested I might like to view the videos of life in post war London, at which point I was totally hacked off. (Forget the title of the event, a misnomer if ever there was one).

    This is not the forum to raise my irritations at the titles and scrappy displays. I did feel that some effort in directing people to allotments, vegetable gardens where a lot of people lived, say a prefab, (pre-fabricated houses) or two. A Beach hut with sun roof panelling that doubled up as greenhouse might have been fun and shown some initiative…even some original thinking.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir she sure does!
      It’s a shame when an event like that disappoints so much when with a little effort it could have been so much better, and perhaps even something rather special. xx

      • menhir says:

        The Festival of London is so much more interesting and livelier than the Festival of Britain Anniversary. Apart from a major Antipodean theme, the other parallel theme of it was one of nature. The F of B display may have been a metaphor for the austere times of yore that we lived in, even in London, if so, it didn’t do well on that front either.

        Now, if you had been asked for some ideas, I am sure, Mr F. you would have had some really useful and interesting ones to contribute. What would you have made of a beach hut with RAF colours and a so-called relevant painted design on the outside, with closed doors? The doors were meant to have opened half an hour earlier.

Leave a Reply

