Mmm, lots of flowers…

said a fellow allotmenteer who I rarely see and speak to even less.  I looked up from weeding to see him standing on the roadway looking at the plot and replied Mmm, lots of vegetables too.  I could see his rather quizzical look as from where he was standing all he could see were the onions. He wandered off towards his own plot which, being the serious vegetable grower that he is, has no flowers on it.

I took a break when I looked round and wondered just how many plants were in flower. It’s at least 15 – borage (blue), california poppies (orange), chicory (blue), cornflowers (blue and pink), crocosmia (red), dahlia (white/pink), love-in-a-mist (blue and white), nasturtiums ( orange, red and yellow), pot marigolds ( cream, orange, red and yellow), phacelia (purple), poppies (purple and red), roses (apricot and white), sunflowers (red and yellow), sweet peas (blue, red and white) and veitch (yellow).  Another handful have been and gone, and there’s still more to come.

Mmm, lots of flowers but I have to agree with another plot neighbour Margo, who’s from Barbados, when she says I like pretty!

Don’t forget that the Big Butterfly Count starts on Saturday through to the end of the month.  Please take part as it’s the perfect time for a flutter.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Mmm, lots of flowers…

  1. Jennyta says:

    I like pretty too, Flighty. Your flowers look gorgeous and, by growing them, you are, of course, doing your bit for the butterflies, bees etc. 😉

  2. Jo says:

    Your veggies will be all the better for those flowers, they’ll attract all the pollinators to your plot, as well as brightening up everyone’s mood. I think people are realising now that flowers are an important part of a vegetable patch.

  3. Just my kind of veg plot – a little bit of this, a little bit of that – good for you!

  4. Sounds to me like your neighbour was being a touch curmudgeonly! Obviously growing flowers gladdens the heart and makes for a happier person… perhaps he should try it! Caro x

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Spectacular show, Flighty! Love your summertime colours!!

  6. Mo says:

    His vegetables are probably benefitting from all the visitors to your flowers too! They look lovely 🙂

  7. I’m with Margo – I love flowers on a plot and yours looks wonderful. I haven’t managed to cram as many is as I had hoped to this year, but even though I know I want more room for peas and beans it won’t be the flowers that lose out!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet she grows everything on raised beds, because of waterlogging problems, all of which she surrounds with flowers. Thanks! There’s never enough room is there. xx

  8. Louise says:

    He’d love me – I’d have an allotment just for flowers! Doesn’t your plot neighbour realise your flowers are helping to pollenate his vegetables? At least you can say you know your onions Flighty! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise there is one guy who has several plots one of which is all flowers, mostly dahlias. I shouldn’t think that he looks on it like that! That’s true. xx

  9. We are on the same page here. It’s possible to grow your own food and make it look pretty as well. My potager is a riot atm with all those fruits, veg, herbs and flowers growing in profusion. The bees and butterflies love it & I too.

    cheerio from Dutchland xxx

  10. Laydilejur says:

    Absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

