Plotting on

I sowed two lots of borlotti and runner beans but few of them germinated. One small consolation is that others, including plot neighbour Joe, had simlar problems.  During the week he kindly gave me some surplus plants which we think are borlotti beans. The French climbing beans did germinate so hopefully I won’t be totally beanless this year!

A few weeks back I mentioned that some flowers had appeared on the tomatoes Gardener’s Delight. This week whilst retying them to the canes I saw that they’re starting to form fruit.

On Monday I was pleased to see the first sunflower. It’s one of the multi-headed ones which I think is the variety Pastiche. Like many of the flowers it’s at least a month early.

There’d been a delivery of woodchip to the site recently so on Monday I put a good layer all around the raspberries and strawberries. That was after I’d weeded, composted and watered. I noticed that there are some flowers on the strawberries so I may yet get a few if I’m lucky.

I finally spotted the Canuck boys who were making the most of the sunshine by hanging onto the grape vine at the back of the shed.

Over in Glo’s garden one of their Canadian cousins seems to prefer hugging the roses.

Happy gardening!     [Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Plotting on

  1. Mo says:

    It’s lovely to see your sunflower. I think we have some Pastiche but no flowers have bloomed yet up here in Yorkshire. I do hope you won’t be beanless 🙂

  2. alison says:

    love the sunflower. yellow and orange always cheerful 🙂

  3. My sunflowers are nowhere near in flower yet. I have just picked 2 ripe Sungold outdoor tomatoes and there are one or two ripening in the greenhouse. Runner beans in flower but no signs of any beans yet, the same with French beans.

  4. Jo says:

    I’ve heard other people mention that they’ve had problems with their beans this year, another casualty of our unpredictable weather perhaps. It’s nice to see your sunflower, I haven’t seen any in flower yet this year.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Great progress on the plot, Flighty.

  6. Isn’t the sight of your first sunflower glorious! My self-seeded Bee’s Knees are throwing open their petals more each day, so it’s all looking very cheerful. The giant sunflowers have yet to finish growing, so I still have that to look forward to. My second sowing of french beans seem to be growing well, but I had to resow thanks to inclement weather annihilating the first round, so these will be quite late I think! How satisfying that your tomatoes seem to be bearing fruit – do you feed with Tomorite? Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro yes it really is! There’s lots going on and lots more to come. Second sowings could do well this year if the weather stays good.
      I always mean to feed the tomatoes but usually forget! xx

  7. Doris says:

    I’m finally up and running again but I have been without a computer for almost two weeks now and I missed your blog. Glad to see your photos at last!

  8. Lovely sunflower – I think it will be August before any of mine do anything. Sorry about your beans, mine are being recalcitrant too, though the dwarf runners are flowering prolifically, so there is hope. Toms look good. I always find the first sight of the fruits ridiculously exciting, but I then get impatient, it always takes longer for them to colour up than I think it should. Patience, Janet, patience… Enjoy your plot! Am going to try sowing some more beans, more in hope than expectation. But hey, a girl can dream!

  9. Flighty says:

    Janet thanks! The way things are going here it’ll all be over by August. I can understand your impatience especially once the fruits appear and we’re waiting to eat that first one.
    I was thinking about sowing more beans and decided against it but I’m now having second thoughts! Indeed you can so dream on. xx

Leave a Reply

