Plot successes

In contrast to Thursday’s post I’m pleased to write about some plot successes.

I wasn’t going to grow broad beans this year but changed my mind as I had space for a double row of them. Apart from  weeding occasionally I did nothing else apart from pinching the tops out, even though there was no sign of blackfly.  You can see how I got on in this UK Veg Growers post Broad bean success that I did during the week.

The onions appear to be growing well and it’s always pleasing when  a couple of plot neighbours comment positively about them. The foliage should start yellowing, then falling over,  in about a months time after which I can lift, store and use them.

Once I’ve lifted the potatoes I shall sow phacelia tanacetifolia as a green manure.  I’ve also been sowing shall quantities of it around the plot as it’s a good looking annual flower which is loved by bees.

You’ll know by now just how much I like pot marigolds. Most of them are various shades of cream, orange and yellow but during the week this reddish one stood out from the rest.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Plot successes

  1. VP says:

    I grew Phacelia as a green manure a few years ago and now have it self seeding every year on my plot! And very welcome it is too.

    One year a plot neighbour was wondering where all the bees were – I didn’t have the heart to tell him they were all on my plot where the Phacelia was 😉

    • Flighty says:

      VP I’m happy to let it self-seed. A plot neighbour, John, keeps hives so I get lots of bees on the plot especially as I grow lots of flowers that they like! xx

  2. Jo says:

    All looking great. I don’t grow broad beans as I remember not liking them as a child. I must really give them a go as I didn’t like French beans and runner beans either and now they’re one of my favourite veg. It’s funny how your taste changes with age. I’ve heard many people say that they can’t get rid of green manure year after year so I’ve never sown it. I suppose it depends which type they grow though.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks! Perhaps you try growing some next year, you might be pleasantly surprised.
      Green manures can be a problem if allowed to flower and self-seed. Yes you could wellbe right! xx

  3. I think the answer with green manure is not to let is go to seed before you dig it in. I have a habit of letting plants go to seed and then suffering later for it as they take over. C’est la vie!

  4. Lisa Barker says:

    The marigold is beautiful!

  5. My marigolds (from the seeds you kindly sent me) are coming along fine, I planted them late so as to be able to enjoy them when we get back from our summer break.

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Great news on the plot, Flighty! That Phacelia is very pretty — that it’s beneficial for the soil is an extra bonus.

  7. Mo says:

    I’m chuckling about your Broad Beans, which you weren’t going to sow 🙂 Ours have cropped very well this year.
    It’s nice to hear about sucesses, and your Marigold is a lovely colour!

  8. Damo says:

    Looking good Flighty the broad beans have been a bumper crop for us this year. And we returned from holiday to see all the pot marigolds in full bloom, a very cheery sight after the long drive home!

  9. My broad beans are a mixed bag with some looking ready for harvest and the others have been completely mauled by black fly and aphids (are they the same thing?). Still as you said they are very satisfying to grow!

    • Flighty says:

      Matt that sounds like mine usually are! Yes they are one and the same as blackfly are ‘black bean aphids’. They certainly are when they’re as good as these!

  10. Congrats on the broad beans – we’ve been munching ours too, very tasty. And thank you for the timely reminder that I need to buy phacelia! I have some running alongside the raspberries to attract the bees – and because it is pretty – but plan on sowing it as a green manure, like you, to follow on from the potatoes and improve the soil a little. Have you used it like this before?

  11. Flighty says:

    Janet thanks! No I’ve not used phacelia before but was recommended to grow as a flower that bees like, and I knew that it was a green manure so it seems to be good all round. xx

  12. Martin B says:

    The onions and broad beans look great!
    Just found your blog and it looks great!
    Have a good day, Martin
    http://www.our-good-life.blogspot.com

  13. Louise says:

    If I had an allotment I would most definitely grow Phacelia as a green manure. It’s so pretty, and covers up all that ugly earth when not in use! x

Leave a Reply

