My rosey friend

Today is Nikkipolani’s birthday and I thought that I would give my rosey friend some plot flowers.

All were photographed on the plot during the past few weeks. [click on the thumbnails to see a larger image]

Nikki is one of my oldest blog friends, having first read her original blog in 2004 since when the combination of cats, food and roses that she posts about has always proved irresistible.

We regularly exchange cards and presents and when I took on the plot she thoughtfully sent me a pair of gardening gloves which were put to good use.

She lives in Southern California and it’s always interesting to see the contrasting weather that we get and how it affects our flowers. On Friday she mentioned that her sweet peas are still flowering which is a first, whilst my few are barely ankle height.

Happy birthday Nikki !   xx

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My rosey friend

  1. Oh this is such a lovely gesture! Lovely bouquet, Flighty, with a simply gorgeous rose – is it really called Pretty Lady? Such a beautiful pink! I notice that your header photo has changed as well, white Nigella, so summery. My sweet peas are also at ankle height; I was getting a bit concerned but Monty said on GW that sweet peas will “romp away” over the next month. Definitely something to look forward to! Happy birthday to Nikki!

  2. Jennyta says:

    Happy birthday to Nikki from me too. The photos are lovely – very cheering on this wet, dull morning. 🙂

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, Flighty, this is so sweet. Thanks for all the pretty flowers you’ve been saving for my birthday 🙂 It doesn’t seem possible that we’ve been bloggy friends for nearly seven years! I still remember your first comment and Feathers’ too. Your sunshiny birthday card arrived recently and I just sent you a little something, too. Hope you’re enjoying your weekend — we just had another light-rain this morning.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I’m glad that you like it! You’re most welcome. I know it’s amazing at just how quickly the years have passed. Thanks for mentioning that you’ve received my card, and I look forward to getting your little something!
      I am thanks, although I didn’t really do much yesterday and it’s dull and wet today.
      Have a lovely day! xx

  4. Bill says:

    Happy Birthday, Nikki. I only wish my flowers looked as good as yours, Flighty. Going from ample rain to temperatures over 90 kind of wilted them.

  5. Jo says:

    Happy Birthday, Nikki. It’s amazing how blogging brings so many people together, especially those with an ocean of water between them. The flowers are lovely, especially the gorgeous rose.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks! I’ve had, and still got, blog friends from all around the world including Brasil, Japan and South Africa which amazes me when I think about it. xx

  6. Glo says:

    A wonderful birthday post for a special and dear friend! Your Pretty Lady rose is just spectacular! Don’t forget you have a blog friend in Canada, too 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, I know that Nikki will appreciate your kind words! That rose is the real star of the plot.
      How could I forget, indeed I wouldn’t dare! xx

  7. Mo says:

    A belated Happy Birthday to Nikki. Gorgeous flowers 🙂

  8. Carlie says:

    Happy belated birthday wishes, Nikki xx
    Flighty, I love the flowers – I bet they smell gorgeous!

    • Flighty says:

      Carlie thanks! I’m sure that they do but sadly, unlike yours, my sense of smell is very poor but I get a hint of vanilla when I smell the rose. xx

Leave a Reply

